Worthwhile Reads 10/12

This weekend has completely flown by! I can’t believe it’s Sunday already. We have had gorgeous weather the past few days, and I’ve been enjoying walks and bike rides among the leaves while it’s still so pleasant outside.

IMG_3925

Sunday is here whether I like it or not, however, which means I’m linking up with Amanda at Running With Spoons to share some links worth checking out. Enjoy!

Recovery 

Ali’s Perspective: A Blog on the Media and Eating Disorders

I can relate to quite a bit of this girl’s story – both of us went from overweight to underweight in a short period of time – and she has some valuable thoughts on how the media portrays eating disorders.

Dieting Propaganda: A Rant

It can feel utterly impossible to avoid dieting propaganda in our society, which is absurd and exhausting. I’m glad I’m not the only one who gets pissed off about the inescapability of such nonsense.

Eating: A Manifesto

I love everything about this article. It says so many things that are absolutely true about women’s tendency to apologize for eating, most notably that it’s complete bullshit.

Disclosing One’s Own Disorder To Prove That Recovery Is Possible

I hope to work with individuals suffering from eating disorders one day, and it’s helpful to read about how self-disclosure can be used effectively to encourage clients.

WIAW: Should You Eat When You’re Not Hungry?

If you’re in recovery from an eating disorder, chances are your hunger cues have been put through the wringer. Getting them back on track can take time, and sometimes it’s necessary to eat because our bodies need food. It will especially need food if it has been deprived of nutrients for an extended period of time. For example, I know that I can’t go an especially long time without eating anymore. I’m always at least a little hungry before bed, and if I don’t eat something, I wake up at 4 or 5 in the morning hungry and that, my friends, is a recipe for a cranky day.

Life, Etc.

Your Coffee Is About To Get A Lot More Expensive

I’m sharing this article because a) my best friend wrote it and she is wonderful and b) it is, tragically, true. Coffee prices are on their way up due to environmental crises compromising crops around the world. Stock up now, coffee lovers!

7 Ways I Take Care Of My Mental Health, Because Any Excuse To Make Cupcakes Is A Good Excuse

We are worth prioritizing. Besides, you can’t effectively take care of others if you’re not taking care of yourself!

How Guilt Gets In The Way Of Health

Guilt rarely does anything other than make us feel worse about ourselves. Becoming healthy, happy people means practicing grace and forgiveness with ourselves.

Stop Calling It “Greek” Yogurt! The Meaningless Buzzwords That Make Food Appear Healthier Than It Is

It’s no surprise that companies are sneaky when it comes to ways to make money. It’s up to us to be conscious consumers.

Here’s A Horrifying Picture Of What Sleep Loss Will Do To You 

Sleep deprivation was one of the worst things about having an eating disorder. I shudder even thinking about those sleepless nights, and I am unbelievably grateful for the ability to sleep once again.

We Need To Stop Using Words That Degrade Women

There’s power in word choice, people.

Hopefully these articles give you something to ponder over the course of the coming week. I hope you all have a restful, peaceful Sunday and a magnificent Monday!

Leave a comment