Five Things Friday 6/5/15

Good morning and Happy Friday! I have the day off today, aside from some childcare that I am doing for a neighbor, and I have not quite decided what I will do with my day off. Right now, I’m thinking I will drink coffee, go for a walk, do some journaling, and possibly hit up a thrift store or two, but we will see what transpires. Before I do any of that, however, I’m linking up with Clare to share some of what’s been going on over the past week!

Five Things I Ate

An impulsively purchased apricot while at the grocery store the other day. I was buying a few things and I was feeling fairly hungry, so I tacked on an apricot before I walked home. Seeing as I was hungry and I am trying to only follow the “rules” of eating when hungry and stopping when full instead of all of the bullshit rules my disorder tries to perpetuate, it was probably the best 38 cents I’ve ever spent.

IMG_6825_Fotor

A beet and pear salad and bison burger, split with my mom in the Minneapolis airport. If you’re in the airport in Minneapolis and need a good place to eat, I recommend the French Meadow Bakery. Expectations for food are generally low in airports, but this place was genuinely fresh and tasty.

IMG_6768_Fotor

French Toast Crunch! This cereal was a favorite of my childhood, and my mom bought me a box the other day as a weird little gift. If I had a cassette player to listen to and stirrup pants to wear while eating this cereal, I would swear it was 1996.

IMG_6828_Fotor

A piece of this fabulous chocolate-covered espresso bean sugar cookie that we sampled at work the other day, which was just as good as it sounds.

IMG_6817 (1)_Fotor

Good coffee! I loved my trip away from home, but I sure did miss making my own, perfect (as far as I’m concerned) drink every day.

IMG_6776_Fotor

Five Things I Pinned

Sometimes this is exactly how I feel, but does anybody really have their shit together?

Hell yes.

It can be tough to find the best social work resources online. Well, we’ve done the work for you — here are 10 books every social worker should read and why.

I haven’t read any of these! Time to book it down to the library, I guess.

evrydayfeminism:

Absolutely adore this.

Girl power.

Thai Curry Cheat Sheet

I cook with curry paste quite often, but I honestly never really know what I’m doing. This is so helpful!

Five Things Making Me Happy

When I went to the farmer’s market the other day, a vendor who I know gave me these lovely little poppies. Poppies happen to be my favorite flowers, and these beauties have been gracing my windowsill ever since!

IMG_6820_Fotor

I bought myself a new pair of shoes! I don’t buy new clothes or shoes very often, but these are my all-time favorite brand and they are perfect for work. Maybe I didn’t need them per se, but sometimes it’s nice to treat ourselves to something we really want just because we want it.

IMG_6822_Fotor

This squirrel. My college town has black squirrels, and I saw this one on my last day there. It looks like this squirrel was going for some sort of ombre look, which I think it was totally rocking.

IMG_6756_Fotor

My mom’s best friend, who we stayed with on our trip last week, has a husband who is an incredible potter. As a gift before we left, my mom’s friend gave me this gorgeous bowl. I am ridiculously paranoid about breaking it before I move, so I haven’t used it much, but I absolutely love it!

IMG_0073_Fotor

These amazing socks that we have for sale at work, which I think I might just have to purchase for myself. They speak the truth.

IMG_6819_Fotor

I am honored to have my story shared on Robyn’s website today! I love her outlook on life and food, and her blog has been an inspiration to me time and time again. I’m so grateful for her to putting the request out there for readers’ stories, and for choosing to share mine. I know this is a sixth thing, but I make my own rules.

That’s it this Friday! I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

8 thoughts on “Five Things Friday 6/5/15

  1. I NEED THOSE SOCKS! They would go with the shirt I have that says “Not by bread alone” and has a picture of a bagel on it 🙂 Bread=Life

Leave a Reply

