Five Things Friday 5/29/15

Happy Friday! I hope you are looking forward to a weekend of fun and relaxation. I’m flying out tomorrow morning and heading back to reality. This week has been quite the week, and I’m linking up with Clare today to share some of its highlights.

Five Things I Ate

IMG_6708_Fotor

A quesadilla with chorizo, my absolute favorite thing to order at a Mexican restaurant. I decided to really challenge myself by ordering what I wanted to eat, not what felt safe, and I’m glad I did! This lunch was totally worth the accompanying anxiety and stress.

IMG_6455_Fotor

A little bit of almost everything at my cousin’s bachelorette party, which had an incredible spread of food to choose from.

IMG_6447_Fotor

Delicious chicken schwarma at a Middle Eastern restaurant in Chicago with my family. YUM.

IMG_6716_Fotor

IMG_6715_Fotor

IMG_6714_Fotor

A dear friend of mine and I went out to dinner and split a salmon burger and a Thai chicken salad. Of course, we ordered mojitos as well. All three things were excellent!

IMG_6654_Fotor

Freshly grilled vegetables and chicken at our lovely host’s house this week.

Five Things I Pinned

Truth.

Make time for the things that make you feel good.

It’s possible to be kind to ourselves even when we don’t feel like doing so.Chipotle's Chicken Burrito Bowl with Cilantro Lime Rice

Given my love of chicken, burritos, and bowls, I think it is safe to say that I would love this.

This is almost always true, except sometimes, when I actually do need a hug.

Choose to become Carl Jung #quote

True for each of us.

Five Things Making Me Happy

IMG_6448

It was lovely to visit Chicago, but being there for my cousin’s wedding affirmed my choice to move to Portland. I will always love that city as a place to visit, but I’m ready for a new start.

IMG_6449

Seeing SO MANY amazing friends and family this week! This trip has been a rejuvenating, motivating, challenging, wonderful whirlwind. It has been a delight to catch up with many of the people that I love! I especially enjoyed sharing in the experience of drinking yerba mate with my family, many of whom have spent a good deal of time in South America and drink it every morning and afternoon together.

IMG_6517

For my cousin’s wedding, our family baked pies on pies on pies to serve after a hymn-sing that my cousin planned for friends and family. Even though baking was a bit stressful, it was wonderful to work together amidst the pre-wedding madness and enjoy one another’s company. And, I learned that a group of Mennonites can sure as hell crank out some pies when they put their minds to it!

IMG_6745

When I came to college here, this town seriously lacked good coffee, and I was pleasantly surprised to see a new roaster that has taken up shop. Their coffee is excellent, and I had the chance to talk with one of the owners for a bit and see their little coffee roasting operation.

That’s it for this Friday – I am going to try my best to enjoy the last of my time here, and I hope your weekend kicks off wonderfully!

3 thoughts on “Five Things Friday 5/29/15

Leave a Reply

