What I Ate Wednesday 5/27/15: Indiana Edition

Good morning! Somehow, I survived the wedding weekend, and I’m settling into a much more relaxing week in my college town. So far, I have seen several wonderful friends, slept a whole lot, and spent time in reflection, trying to make peace with the juxtaposition of bittersweet memories that this place holds. With a good deal of spare time on my hands this week, I am hoping to get some writing and blogging in, and I am linking up with Peas and Crayons again today to share yesterday’s eats with you.

I’m staying with my mom’s best friend while I’m in town, and I feel extremely comfortable in this friend’s house. I had no hesitation helping myself to breakfast yesterday morning, so I made a bowl of oats with a banana, a spoonful of peanut butter, and a few blueberries and dried cranberries.

IMG_6525_Fotor

After a long walk along the river, I headed back to my temporary home to make some lunch. We ate barbecued chicken for dinner Monday evening, and there was a great deal of leftovers. I cut up some of the chicken and made a salad with Asian Toasted Sesame dressing and a few cashews, which I ate with a cup of fruit and some Triscuits with a bit of delicious, sharp cheese.

IMG_6537_Fotor

When I had finished lunch, I walked to a coffee shop for some journaling time. I brought an apple with me, which I enjoyed with an iced tea. A bit later, I walked down to a local, delicious chocolate shop and enjoyed a dark chocolate turtle with another iced tea.

IMG_6542_Fotor

IMG_6545_Fotor

Later in the afternoon, I visited my old workplace and a friend, stopping between visits to eat a small bowl of cereal as a snack. And yes, those are Apple Jacks in that bowl.

IMG_6547_Fotor

In the early evening, my mom, her friend, and I went to the new brewery that recently opened in town. We ordered an appetizer of barbecued black-eyed peas, which I sampled. Pre-recovery, there would have been no way that I would have had even a taste of something if it wasn’t in my allotted meal plan. Regardless of my hunger level, I would have completely avoided any unplanned food. Despite arising anxiety and disordered thoughts as I broke out of routine, it felt good to enjoy a taste of something just because I was hungry and it was good.

IMG_6550_Fotor

After deciding to try a different place for dinner, we headed to what is usually a delicious restaurant. I ordered fish tacos, but ate some of the roasted vegetables that my mom and her friend ordered while I waited.

IMG_6551_Fotor

Unfortunately, my fish tacos were highly disappointing. I ate part of one before deciding that I didn’t need to eat something that I didn’t like. I snacked on some more of the roasted vegetables, had a piece of bread, and the rest of my mom’s minted split pea soup to finish off my dinner.

IMG_6552_Fotor

IMG_6555_Fotor

Early in recovery, having bad food at a restaurant would have sent me over the edge. I either would have eaten it anyway because I was starving and didn’t want to recalculate calories, or I would have allowed myself to be scared about how much I had eaten and refused to add onto my meal with any other foods, rather than listening to my body. This far along in my recovery, I am finally getting to the point where I can listen to my body instead of my inner critic. After my hodgepodge dinner, I was still a bit hungry and my mom and her friend wanted to stop for ice cream. My college town happens to have the best homemade ice cream shop, and I wasn’t going to let disordered thoughts keep me from enjoying some, especially since I was still a little hungry. I ordered a baby cone with cookies and cream ice cream, and it was perfect.

IMG_6557_Fotor

This ice cream stop felt like a major recovery success because it allowed me to rewrite memories from my disorder that are so very painful for me. The last time that I had ice cream here, when my eating disorder was spiraling entirely out of control, all I had was a taste of sugar-free ice cream after a pitifully small lunch. Although this visit was not free from anxiety and disordered thoughts, having some ice cream after dinner and enjoying it was a huge success.

In recovery, I am having to accept that our bodies tell us what they need with no ulterior motives. Our bodies simply want us to survive and thrive. Even if we ate ice cream, even if we didn’t exercise as much as usual, even if we feel undeserving, we need to answer our bodies’ call for food. Last night, I got hungry again a little before bed and I was not going to let food challenges lead to a cycle of restriction. I ate a graham cracker topped with peanut butter, along with a few blueberries and a little cereal, and I slept beautifully.

IMG_6559_Fotor

That wraps up this week’s What I Ate Wednesday post – I hope you enjoy the rest of this lovely day!

20 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday 5/27/15: Indiana Edition

  1. thanks for joining the WIAW party – i love seeing everyone’s eats and sharing my own. i love your cereal snack mix! I love doing that too – mixing a few different dry cereals with fruit and dried fruit and chocolate, etc. so good!

  2. I’ve been snacking on cereal lately too. Recently saw Cinnamon Life and it suddenly appealed to me. My sister loved Life as a kid but I was meh about it then. It has been a tasty mid day and bedtime snack of choice lately. Your graham cracker and PB combo sounds looks delicious.

    I have really enjoyed reading your posts lately and hearing about how much progress you are making. I have been really working at not eating food that doesn’t appeal or taste like I wanted it. Like you describe in the past I would have just eaten it instead of making or ordering something different. When I initially threw out food it was so emotional and hard but gets easier each time I do it.

  3. It sounds like you have been having a lovely week so far, and that truly brings a smile to my face. I really enjoy reading your blog- hope you know that! I have to ask, what is a chocolate turtle? Looks good. πŸ™‚ I have never had apple jacks but I feel like I would enjoy them! Very rarely is there ever a bad tasting cereal out there. Ending the night with ice cream is always the best. ❀

  4. What a wonderful post and you seem to be doing so well in your recovery! It’s always so much harder when you’re traveling and don’t have control over your meals. I’m especially proud of you for realizing that if you don’t like your food, you shouldn’t be forced to eat it.

  5. I finally discovered what your style of eating reminds me of. You remind me of a French person. They sample a bit of everything and overindulge in nothing. You really do eat what you want throughout the day trying to follow your hunger. I know you still feel so far away from recovery, but from an outsider, you’re doing a great job!

    • Thank you! That means a lot. It’s easy to be self-critical, but that eating style is what I’m aiming for. I hope to learn to listen to my body, not deny myself, and honor its needs and wants.

Leave a Reply

