What I Ate Wednesday 5/20/15: Sugar And Bread And Cheese, Oh My

Hey there, Wednesday readers! I’m linking up with Peas and Crayons and The Big Man’s World to share a day’s worth of food with you once again. Yesterday wasn’t too out of the ordinary, although it carried with it the theme of using up food that is in my refrigerator before I head out of town tomorrow.

Yesterday morning started out gloriously, with some of my favorite oatmeal.

IMG_6396_Fotor

We had a painfully slow morning at work, which was kind of a relief given the madness of the last few days, so I was able to snack on part of a leftover bran muffin along with my cup of coffee in relative peace.

IMG_6397_Fotor

When lunchtime rolled around, I was downright hungry. I had a bagel, turkey pastrami, hummus, and havarti cheese that I was eager to use up before leaving town, so I made a little open-faced sandwich out of the pastrami and cheese. I ate the sandwich with a side of carrots and hummus, along with some baked Kettle chips.

IMG_6399_Fotor

After lunch, I shared one of these Cara Cara oranges with one of my coworkers. A little while later, I had an Andes mint with another small cup of coffee and an un-pictured pumpkin spice candy.

IMG_6400_Fotor IMG_6404_Fotor

Yesterday was a gorgeous day, and I wanted to walk my dog when I got off of work. But first, snack! As I have become more active in the last couple of months, I have been trying to consciously do a better job of fueling my body to accommodate the activity. Before leaving,I ate one of these strawberry yogurt bars (which are amazing) and walked to my grandpa’s house to pick up my dog. As I walked Bo, I started to get peckish again and ate a few almonds that I had in my purse.

IMG_6405_Fotor

When I returned home from my walk, I had a FaceTime date with a college friend. I was fairly hungry after walking, so I made a (somewhat strange) snack out of a hardboiled egg, frozen blueberries with yogurt, a few Cheddar Bunnies, and the last two sheets of my seaweed snacks. It may have been strange, but it satisfied me enough that I could focus on talking to my dear friend, which is what matters.

IMG_6408_Fotor

For dinner, I ate pizza with ham and pineapple in addition to a small salad. In my experience, pizza rarely disappoints.

IMG_6410_Fotor

After dinner, I ate the last little bit of a box of cereal for dessert and did a short and sweet yoga video to relax a bit. Before bed, I had my usual (and wonderful) snack of peanut butter toast with a kiss of honey and a couple of semi-sweet chocolate chips. As expected, it was delightful.

IMG_6246

Looking back on yesterday’s food, I was tempted to enter into the comparison game. “That’s a lot of cheese,” I thought. “You ate way too much sugar,” my disordered mind told me. When this happens, I have found that the best thing for me to do is tell that voice to shut the fuck up. It can still be easy for me to get caught up in how much sugar, bread, meat, salt, or fat I eat in a given day. Slowly but surely, however, I am learning to let it be. I am learning to trust that my body knows what it is doing when it asks me for food, and that I can feel safe in trusting its intuition. Comparison may tempt me from time to time, but my life today is incomparably better than my life was when I felt the need to rigidly control every morsel that I ate, and I would not trade it for anything.

8 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday 5/20/15: Sugar And Bread And Cheese, Oh My

  1. I am so thankful that you threw in that last paragraph! I’ve been trying to remind myself lately that if my body is craving something, it’s healthier for me to eat more of it than Ed would usually allow because it prevents me from having a binge later. So cheese up, girl! You deserve it 🙂

  2. You’re totally right! Sometimes I consciously have to tell my mind to STFU! Usually this happens when I turn down an offer to work or to go out just because I would rather relax and watch Netflix. I feel guilty for saying no when I really have no reason not to other than I don’t want to move.
    I love your oatmeal bowls! I should eat more oatmeal but find I use it most when I am making no bake cookies. Oats are so good in sweets!

  3. I love citrus fruits at this time of year. 🙂 And I love your blog. ❤ My blog is kind of along the same lines, and it's encouraging to find other young women fighting and overcoming!

Leave a Reply

