Five Things Friday 4/24/15

Good morning and Happy Friday! Before I head into work today, I’m linking up with Clare to share some of what’s been going on in my life lately.

Five Things I Ate

IMG_6078_Fotor

A Lindor coconut truffle, which was ah-mazing.

IMG_6103_Fotor

A salad that I snagged at work, which had asparagus, grapes, peas, and shallots in it. It was definitely not enough for a full meal on its own, but it was great with the rest of my lunch.

IMG_6126_Fotor

One of my coworkers made me these delicious pecan oatmeal cookies, and I ate some of one with my afternoon cup of coffee the other day. Accepting gifts of food is one of the best parts of recovery, I believe.

IMG_6131_Fotor

A really good chicken burger with avocado and cheddar cheese that I had for lunch yesterday.

IMG_6135_Fotor

These coconut chips that I bought a while back and then forgot about. They are excellent in curry, or as a little snack.

Five Things I Pinned

Sometimes it’s not only okay, but necessary.

We often have more power in our lives than we know.

Lemon Cupcakes with Blackberry Buttercream

These lemon blackberry cupcakes look absolutely fantastic.

Sweet Almond Honey Oatmeal Goat's Milk Soap via Essentially Eclectic

I haven’t yet ventured into the territory of homemade soap, but I would love to give it a try sometime.

berry desserts, berry bread, lemon icing, bread with lemon glaze

Two lemon-berry cake posts in one week? I must be craving citrus…or cake. In any case, this lemon blueberry cake looks delicious!

Five Things Making Me Happy

I’ve started doing my grandpa’s grocery shopping, and his shopping lists are hilarious. I present to you Exhibit A:

IMG_6099_Fotor

I love hanging clothes out on the line to dry, and the weather has been nice enough lately that I can finally do it!

IMG_6076_Fotor

I planted some poppy seeds a few weeks ago without much hope that they would survive, but I noticed the cutest little green shoots springing up this week. Perhaps there is hope, after all!

IMG_6133

Any and all cups of coffee like this one, which I made at work the other day.

IMG_6093_Fotor

I’m really getting back into reading, and it feels wonderful. The beauty of recovery amazes me every day, but for some reason being able to focus on a good book feels especially invigorating. I have been an avid reader for most of my life, but I gradually lost interest in books as my disorder progressed. Eventually, the only books that I could focus on were recovery oriented, and even that was a challenge. To be able to dive into a novel like I used to feels comforting, like a piece of me that has been missing for so long is finally back in place.

IMG_6136_Fotor

One of my Facebook friends posted something that was blatant fat-shaming, and I actually called him out on it. I am normally somebody who stands quietly by, but for some reason I felt the need to speak up and I’m glad that I did. If we remain silent about problems that we see, we are not contributing to the solution.

That was more than five, but I make my own rules, damn it.

I hope that you enjoy your weekend, rain or shine! What things are making you happy today?

4 thoughts on “Five Things Friday 4/24/15

  1. I love lemon-berry anything! Have you ever had a lemon poppyseed muffin? They are also delicious, but they must have a glaze. The glaze takes it over the top!
    Is that book about the woman named Ruth in the Bible or a different one?

Leave a Reply

