What I Ate Wednesday 4/15/15: April Showers

Good morning, everybody! I hope the first half of your week has been going well. I have had a pretty good week thus far, and I’m thinking up with Jenn today to share yesterday’s foodstuffs with you.

Tuesday was a rainy day around these parts, and I was glad for the moisture even though the rain makes for a drearier atmosphere. Hopefully it will lead to a green spring and a summer without too many forest fires! To start off my rainy day, I had a bowl of oatmeal before heading to work.

IMG_6021_Fotor

After an hour or two on my feet, I was feeling hungry for a snack and some caffeination. I made a little foam-topped americano with cinnamon and ate part of a muffin that a coworker gave to me. Is it just me, or are store-bought muffins always suspiciously delicious?

IMG_6022_Fotor

When my lunch break rolled around, I ate tuna in half of a pita pocket with a little avocado and a bit of cheddar cheese that was left after I picked the mold off of the rest. Aren’t I classy? I also had some salsa with carrots and Juanita’s tortilla chips, which used to scare me because of their caloric content, but they are truly the best tortilla chips from a store that I have ever tasted. In addition to my pita and chips, I had a lemon meringue greek yogurt.

IMG_6024_Fotor

After a couple more hours at work, I was ready for an afternoon cup of coffee and a little something sweet. I made another delicious americano topped with glorious foam and ate a Thin Mint cookie with it.

IMG_6029_Fotor

A while later, as I was getting off of work, I was invited to come out to celebrate my coworker’s birthday at a brewery nearby. I was starting to feel hungry for an afternoon snack, so I ate an orange and a few almonds on my way to the brewery.

IMG_6035_Fotor

After a lovely bit of time with work friends, I headed home. I am currently reading a wonderful book, but I have a hard time reading if I’m not moving (silly, I know). The weather was still nasty, so I decided to challenge myself by going to my old gym to do some easy elliptical time while I read. If you’ve followed my blog for long, you know that I gave up formal exercise and the gym a few months ago, and I have not regretted that decision. It has been incredibly helpful to my recovery, but I wanted to see if I could trust myself to go to the gym and not be triggered by what was going on around me or by self-imposed expectations. Before I headed out, I finished off a little bit of popcorn with a couple of wasabi peas and almonds added to it. The weight-loss oriented me would have seen the gym only as an opportunity to burn calories, and I ate something before going to the gym because I was hungry and because I no longer want to see exercise in that way.

IMG_6036_Fotor

All in all, my time at the gym was a success. I did my best to put up blinders to the people working out around me and to focus solely on what I was there to do. I stuck to the time limit that I had set for myself before going, and I left the gym feeling that I had made another step in recovery. When I got home, I was pretty hungry again and I ate a little yogurt with cereal because my goal with exercise is not to create a calorie deficit like it used to be.

IMG_6038_Fotor

For dinner, I decided to do a little experimenting. I made a tilapia fillet (okay, Costco made it but I put it in the oven), which I ate with some quinoa cooked in chicken broth and sauteed with green beans, mushrooms, carrots, and onions. I also had a side salad with poppyseed dressing and a strawberry sliced on top. It was a lovely variation from my usual routine.

IMG_6043_Fotor

After some shopping and a delightful FaceTime date with my best friend, I was getting hungry for a snack and I was feeling fairly tired. Before going to sleep, I decided to challenge myself by deviating from my usual night snack of toast by having a few Girl Scout cookies with a little glass of milk. I didn’t actually drink all of the milk because it tasted a little off to me, but the cookies were delightful, of course.

IMG_6044

When I get hung up in recovery, it is always helpful for me to think of how far I have come. A year ago, I wouldn’t have accepted impromptu invitations after work and I could not have limited my time at the gym in the way that I did yesterday. Girl Scout cookies would have been completely out of the question, unless they were somehow “earned” or part of a greater plan of restriction. Recovery can be so exhausting and the amount of time that it takes alone is daunting, but it is always helpful to look at how much brighter the world is now than it was before.

That’s it for this Wednesday’s post! I hope you have a wonderful rest of your day!

7 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday 4/15/15: April Showers

  1. Looks like a delicious day of food 🙂 It is so great to remind yourself of how far you’ve come. When I feel stuck or at a plateau on my recovery journey, it is so helpful and reassuring to look at the things I did today that I would not have been able to do a year or just a few months/weeks ago! Great job to you that you were able to go to the gym not just for the sole purpose of burning calories. That’s something I’ve had struggles with for a very long time. You deserve to be proud of yourself! 🙂

  2. Girl Scout cookies are addicting! I didn’t buy any this year because I cannot justify spending $4 for 12 cookies. Sorry girlies, I’d rather get more cookie for my dollar

  3. I’ve been following your blog but haven’t had the chance to comment. I know you must hear this all the time but your recovery journey is very inspirational and you should be very proud of yourself! It’s never easy living in a world where everyone seems to be on a diet and wanting to be just thinner. I wish you the best of luck and will continue to read your posts!

    • Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with me! It inspires me and motivates me to hear that others are benefitting from my story. It is true that we live in a sick culture obsessed with thinness and standing up against it is a daily challenge, but I have to believe that it is a battle worth fighting. Best of luck to you and thank you again!!

Leave a Reply

