What I Ate Wednesday 3/25/15: Accidentally Vegetarian

Good morning! Is it really the last Wednesday in March?! I swear, the farther I get from college, the faster times moves! Because it is indeed Wednesday today, I’m linking up with Peas and Crayons and Sprint 2 The Table to share some foodstuffs with you all. Enjoy!

For breakfast, I had the oatmeal that I always have, and it was perfect.

IMG_5799_Fotor

For a morning snack, I intended on splitting this bran muffin with my coworker and enjoying it with my morning coffee, but we suddenly got insanely busy at work. I managed to eat part of the bran muffin between rushes, but I ended up dumping the coffee once it cooled off and lost its appeal.

IMG_5801_Fotor

When lunch rolled around, I brought out a sandwich that I made with a hardboiled egg, avocado, and some sweet relish. I enjoyed it with gorgonzola crackers from Trader Joe’s, carrots with hummus, and one of these fancy Chobani yogurts. I hadn’t tried this kind before, and it is good.

IMG_5804_Fotor

I got off of work a little early, and I had an appointment with my therapist in the afternoon. I brought some cold brewed iced coffee home from work with me and enjoyed it on the way to and during my appointment.

IMG_5805_Fotor

After seeing my therapist, I went for a nice walk in the sun while I ate this orange.

IMG_5810_Fotor

Later in the afternoon, I made some popcorn which I seasoned with garlic powder, seasoning salt, some cayenne pepper, and a few dried cranberries. I ate my popcorn with a mug of chai and had a FaceTime date with a friend. I also had a few more cranberries with some wasabi peas and a couple of sheets of dried seaweed a little bit later on.

IMG_5815_Fotor

IMG_5816_Fotor

My friend and I talked for a good, long while, and when we finished I was ready to make some dinner. I had been marinating tofu with sriracha, soy sauce, garlic, and szechuan sauce, so I decided to make some stir fry. I cooked the tofu with vegetables, white rice, and a sauce made of ginger, garlic, soy sauce, a little fish sauce, and some more sriracha. I also had a salad with feta dill dressing. All in all, it was a pretty damn good dinner.

IMG_5819_Fotor

A little while after dinner, I had some dessert consisting of a few chocolate chips, some Bunny Grahams, and a mini shortbread cookie. I then had another FaceTime date with a wonderful friend of mine, followed by some yoga.

IMG_5823_Fotor

I felt like I had been running nonstop all day, so when I finally sat down on my bed to relax a little bit before going to sleep (and by relax a little bit I mean indulging in some Teen Mom watching), I could feel my eyelids drooping instantly. For a bedtime snack, I ate a piece of toast with peanut butter and honey and turned in for the night.

IMG_5825_Fotor

I didn’t realize it at the time, but I did not eat any meat yesterday. This likely does not sound like a big deal, but for somebody who used to overanalyze every single aspect of her meals, it is unbelievably refreshing to just go with the flow. During the worst of my disorder, I was a vegetarian entirely as an excuse to eliminate foods. Once I entered recovery, I became somewhat obsessed with incorporating enough protein into my diet and ate meat every day because I was fearful of throwing off the “perfect” balance that I felt I needed to achieve. It feels truly wonderful to be at a place where I can not eat meat one day and eat it the next if I want to, knowing that my body will balance everything out for me. It is one more sign of recovery in a list of many for which I am incredibly thankful.

I hope your Wednesday treats you right and I’ll see you back here tomorrow for a little Thinking Out Loud!

3 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday 3/25/15: Accidentally Vegetarian

  1. Way to be vegetarian for the day! It’s really easy isn’t it? When people find out I’m a vegan they always assume it’s hard and the “Where do you get your protein?” always is the second question. It’s actually really easy to meet all your dietary recommendations without eating animals or their secretions. My favorite vegan meal: peanut butter and jelly! 😛

Leave a Reply

