What I Ate Wednesday 3/18/15

Good morning on this fine Wednesday, where I am linking up with Jenn and Meghan to share yesterday’s food with you! I don’t know if it was the luck of Saint Patrick’s Day or something else, but I had a fantastic day yesterday.

I decided that I wanted to challenge myself and mix up my meals and snacks yesterday because it is far too easy for me to get in my head regarding calorie counts and comparisons when I eat the same things all of the time. If I eat the things that I used to eat, in the amounts that I used to eat them because I am afraid of stepping out of my comfort zone, I am appeasing my disorder and limiting myself. Plus, I figured that my food choices should at least be a little interesting if I’m sharing them with the general public.

I started off my St. Patrick’s Day right by eating oatmeal (and wearing green, duh). This is in no way a variation from my usual breakfast, but I love oatmeal and it is something I look forward to every morning. I also knew that the day’s food challenges would be difficult, so I wanted to start my morning strong with a favorite breakfast that feels very comfortable to me.

IMG_5694_Fotor

A little ways into the morning, I was hungry and in dire need of some caffeine. I had a small part of a peanut butter bran muffin alongside my americano misto, followed by a few almonds and the last of my coffee. Have no fear, though – the best thing about working at a coffee shop is that there is always more coffee.

IMG_5696_Fotor

IMG_5698_Fotor

For my lunch, I decided to make a salad consisting of two hardboiled eggs, some avocado, a bunch of vegetables, and pear gorgonzola vinaigrette. With some added salt and pepper, it was divine. I also had a cup of roasted red pepper and tomato soup topped with flax tortilla chip crumbs, as well as some local, whole milk greek yogurt that my coworker brought in. I can’t even begin to explain the perfection that is this yogurt. If I could, I would bathe in it.

IMG_5702_Fotor

A while after my lunch, I was feeling a bit peckish again. I sliced up an apple, which I ate with a small spread of goat cheese and a drizzle of honey.

IMG_5708_Fotor

After I got home from work, I ran a few errands and whipped myself up a snack. I have been craving popcorn for days, so I popped some up and enjoyed it with a little butter, garlic powder, salt, and (too much) cayenne pepper. The popcorn was a fancy Amish kind from Indiana with three different colors of kernels in it, and it wasn’t nearly as burned as it looks in the picture. I swear. I ate my popcorn with a square of dark chocolate because no day is complete without chocolate.

IMG_5713_Fotor

I did a (very short) yoga video and caught up with a friend of mine over FaceTime. I had plans to go out for drinks and dancing for St. Patrick’s Day after dinner, so I grabbed some sushi and miso soup from the grocery store to eat before I left. I also made a little cucumber and carrot salad with rice vinegar to go with my Japanese-themed meal.

IMG_5715_Fotor

While out dancing, I drank a few sips of a beer. To be honest, I wasn’t much of a beer drinker pre-eating disorder, so a small taste is enough for me. Of course, disordered red flags go off when I drink something like beer. Beer! Carbs! Empty calories! And, to those thoughts I say, “Who the fuck cares? I’m having fun.”

IMG_5721_Fotor

Going out was fun, but I have the soul of an eighty-year-old woman and I was pretty tired by about 10:30. I headed home and had a bedtime snack, which was not peanut butter toast. Now, I love peanut butter toast and it will probably make an appearance again today, but I figured I should go all out with my food challenges since my day had been so strong as far as recovery was concerned. Instead of toast, I had two of these cookies with a little glass of milk.

IMG_5725_Fotor

It has taken me a long time to get to a place in recovery where I can challenge myself like I did yesterday, far longer than I ever expected. It’s hard for me to believe that I was the girl who weighed almonds and measured out everything in teaspoons and tablespoons. Getting here has taken time, patience, and baby steps, but being here is incredibly freeing. When you don’t have all of the calorie counts of what you usually eat or used to eat in your head, you can truly begin to listen to your body. I’m not entirely there yet, but days like yesterday give me immense hope.

I hope your St. Patrick’s Day was fun and safe, and I will see you back here tomorrow for some Thinking Out Loud!

7 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday 3/18/15

    • It’s kind of a complicated recipe, so it might sound a little ridiculous but I’m happy to share it! I make old fashioned oats (not quick) on the stovetop. When the water is mostly absorbed, I add a banana. I also chop up some nuts and toast them in the toaster oven while it’s cooking. When the oatmeal is almost done, I add the almonds, as well as some beaten egg whites. I was really hesitant to get on the egg white oatmeal train because I thought it sounded weird and gross, but now I’m hooked! They give the oats such a great texture and add a protein boost! After I fold in the egg whites, I stir in a bunch of cinnamon and a little vanilla. Complicated, I know, but so good!

  1. Your eats look fantastic. We’re going to have to be friends now, especially so I can have your peanut butter bran muffins, all the coffee, pear gorgonzola dressing (!!!), that popcorn, those cookies….I want all of it. It looks fantastic.

    I lost count of the number of shots I did yesterday although I interspersed them with lots of water. Ha, balance. 😉

  2. This is so inspiring! I am currently that girl in recovery who measures out and weighs EVERYTHING. But I’m recovering and giving my body the food it needs. Sometimes I think to myself that I am never going to get to that point where I don’t have to be so exact with everything. This gives me hope tho, so thank you and congrats on your beautiful journey!! ❤

    • Thank you so much for your comment – it touches my heart to know that my words are inspiring and motivating others. I know how it feels to be in that space where you feel like you won’t ever be able to enjoy food and life again, but YOU WILL. It won’t be easy, but it will be so worth it! Keep up the good fight and congratulations on how far you have already come!

  3. I actually do not like beer either! I think it tastes awful…but every guy seems to love it, so I let them buy it for me if they want. I love margaritas and sangrias much more because they are sweet and fruity. My St. Patrick’s Day drink was today and it was blue 🙂 Not sorry about waiting, it was delicious!

Leave a Reply

