Worthwhile Reads 2/1/15

Good morning and Happy February! Can you believe it’s here already? It seems like Christmas happened just yesterday, but we’re already into the second month of the year. As far as I’m concerned, that means we’re closer to Spring, which is fine by me, although I have to admit that I do love the look of the frosty weather, even if I don’t love the dark mornings and frigid air.

IMG_5071

On this fine Sunday, I’m linking up with Amanda to share some worthwhile reads that I have found recently. Enjoy!

Recovery

Study: Most Girls Start Dieting By Age 8

I started Weight Watchers at age 13, and I had dieted before that as well, vowing that I would “get in shape” in my journal as a ten-year-old girl. This is the tragic reality of our sick culture, and I can’t help but worry that the recent increased emphasis on calorie counting and fitness tracking will only exacerbate the problem.

Anorexia: What To Look For In A Therapist

It can be difficult to find a therapist that is a good fit, and these are some good things to keep in mind if you’re beginning the search.

Dealing With Fatphobia While In Eating Disorder Recovery

Great tips for recovering in a society obsessed with thinness.

Shouldn’t I Be Recovered By Now?!

Lasting recovery takes time above all else, and that reality can be incredibly frustrating. When I first began recovery, I naively thought I would have the whole process neatly wrapped up in a couple of months. The reality is that your body and mind both have a lot of repairing to do from the damage of an eating disorder, which is why it is important to be patient through the process of recovery.

Here’s Why The Latest Weight Watchers Commercial Is A Triggering, Shame-Inducing Fail

hate this commercial. For those of us who already second guess our need to eat, this commercial is nothing but trouble. And for people who struggle with eating for emotional reasons, this commercial only induces shame and guilt, neither of which lead to any sort of positive outcome.

Landmines

This is a great post on how triggering every experience can be when we are operating from a place of self-loathing, and why life can be so much more enjoyable when we look upon ourselves with love instead. I’ve been doing some body image work lately and have become much more aware of the ways in which I am hard on myself for my appearance, a realization that has been challenging and eye-opening.

Why Is Orthorexia Still Not Classified As An Eating Disorder?

In my opinion, eating should be considered disordered any time that food rules interfere with one’s ability to live a full and happy life. Official diagnosis or not, orthorexia can be just as physically and emotionally damaging as any other eating disorder. Unfortunately, the implication of it not being treated as such diagnostically is that insurance companies are less likely to fund treatment, which is a hard enough to get with disorders that are in the DSM.

Why Do I DO That?!

An excellent post on why we choose destructive behaviors even when we know that they are destructive, and what we can do about it.

Life, Etc.

The Best Diet Might Start With Self-Love

Interesting research on why acting out of body hatred is not an effective approach to weight loss.

Why You Should Learn A Foreign Language

Because speaking another language is badass, that’s why!

We All Deserve To Receive What We Need (And It’s Not Selfish)

When we focus on others’ needs and neglect our own, we are selling ourselves short. We may have a lot to offer other people, but we can’t forget all that we have to offer ourselves as well.

How Highly Sensitive People Can Empower Themselves

Being highly sensitive can feel like a curse. It often has for me, but seeing and responding to the world a little differently than others can truly be a gift.

The Definitive Ranking of Lip Smacker Flavors

Oh man, I think I had these in every flavor. I’ve gotta say, Dr. Pepper was probably at the top of my list.

Those are this week’s links for y’all! Whether you will be watching the Superbowl or the Puppy Bowl (I choose the latter), I hope that you enjoy your Sunday. Iff you find any other worthwhile articles around the Internet, feel free to send ’em my way!

One thought on “Worthwhile Reads 2/1/15

Leave a Reply

