Five Things Friday 1/23/15

Happy Friday, everybody! This post is a little later than usual because I ended up staying at my employee party for quite a while last night and crashed into bed as soon as I got home. Better late than never, though! I’m linking up with Clare and Jen today to share some of this past week’s notable happenings. Enjoy!

Five Things I Ate

The Senegalese food that my friend and I made last week turned out surprisingly well. It seems like it’s never quite the same when you attempt to recreate a dish on your own, but it was good nonetheless.

IMG_4906

An assortment of foods at the employee party last night. The party was a ton of fun, and it was incredibly well-stocked with food and drinks. I had a little bit of a lot of things, but most notable were the excellent sushi rolls and peanut chicken lettuce wraps.

IMG_4967

I tasted these habanero chips that somebody put on the employee table at work, and man were they spicy. I love spicy food, but these were a little too much for me.

IMG_4947

This spicy avocado hummus, which is absolutely wonderful.

IMG_4994

These Kashi granola bars that I bought on a whim. I’m usually more fond of chewy granola bars than crunchy ones, but these were good, especially crumbled in yogurt.

IMG_4988 IMG_4990

Five Things I Pinned

The most amazing things are made when we take risks and open ourselves up to the vulnerability of mistakes.

For making your own vinaigrette.

These are some good ideas for vinaigrettes, along with food pairings.

For those of us who never believe we have done enough.

The Best Restorative Yoga Poses to Relieve Stress

The only yoga I’m doing during my month of rest is restorative yoga, so it’s nice to have some poses in mind.

buildup

I’ve been thinking my hair could use a good cleanse, and this might just do the trick.

Five Things Making Me Happy

The employee party last night was such a good time! I am often reminded of how much I adore my coworkers and the company I work for, and last night was no exception. Good food, good people, and bad karaoke singing made for a fantastic time.

IMG_4971

My therapist and I had a conversation about what clothes I have held on to that either don’t fit anymore or that signify especially hard times with my disorder. It has become clear to me that it is time to let go of these clothes, so I have been gradually taking them to work for my coworkers to rifle through or dropping them off at the thrift store. I spent so much of my life feeling like a failure when I outgrew clothes, but I know how sick and miserable I was when I wore my smallest clothes, and ridding myself of them feels refreshing.

IMG_4882

I discovered that the 10-year-old I babysit has this movie rendition of The Butter Battle Book, which I had as a kid. Watching it with him was such a trip down memory lane, in the best way possible. If you’ve never read it, I recommend doing so. You can totally tell that it was written during The Cold War, but it teaches a good lesson.

IMG_4850

finally filled up the journal I have been using, which didn’t stay open on its own and drove me absolutely crazy. I bought it because I liked the design, but I’m far too picky about my journals to choose one that isn’t spiral bound ever again. Luckily, I’ve learned from my mistakes and was able to start this new journal with a great deal of satisfactionIMG_4995

In my crazy cleaning activities, I found this flash drive from my junior year of college. It has some of my biggest papers, so I was glad to find it and look through a few of them. I have been through so much over the last couple of years that it can be hard for me to relate to the person I was pre-anorexia. Finding this flash drive was a good reminder of the girl who still exists beneath the disorder, who has genuine passions and a love of life. Plus, would you just look at how ridiculously cute this flash drive is?!

IMG_4996

That rounds out this week’s post! I’m exhausted from staying out late last night (by my standards, which means 9:45) and getting up early this morning, so I’m hoping to get some decent rest over the next couple of days. I hope you are able to do the same!

4 thoughts on “Five Things Friday 1/23/15

Leave a Reply

