What I Ate Wednesday 12/30: Birthdays And Trashy Television

Happy New Year’s Eve! I’m working today, but I have tomorrow and Friday off to celebrate a new year. It sounds cliche to say that this year has flown by, but things are cliche for a reason, right? This year has been one of the strangest, hardest, and eye-opening years of my life. It has been a year of pain and healing, and I feel like I am ready to wrap it up and begin a new cycle of life.

In addition to it being the last day of 2014, today is Wednesday, which means that I’m linking up with Peas and Crayons to share some foodstuffs that I had the privilege of eating yesterday! I have been reminded lately of how important food is when in recovery from a restrictive eating disorder. Here’s the deal: you need a lot of food when in recovery to heal the damage done to your body through restriction. As a mini public service announcement, I want to tell anybody out there who is also recovering to just keep eating. Even if it feels like you are probably eating too much, even if you think you are eating more than other people, even if you are hungrier than usual, keep eating. Even if you feel terribly guilty and conflicted when you eat, keep eating. If you are hungry, eat. Your body needs the energy from food to heal. If it didn’t need it, it wouldn’t ask you for it. On that note, let’s get on with the post, shall we?

I’m finished housesitting, which is kind of a relief. I liked having more space to myself, but nothing beats the familiarity of home. I missed the little things that make home feel so cozy to me, and it is comforting to have them back. One of those little things is my morning routine of eating breakfast while lying in bed. This routine developed out of practicality because sitting is so hard on my back, but it’s also just the coziest darn thing.

IMG_0005

Once I got to work, I desperately needed a(nother) cup of coffee, which I enjoyed with one of those little Christmas cookies that come in the big-ass tins.

IMG_0006

We had some customers come in for a tour at work, and when I was finished educating them on the world of coffee, or pretending to do so, I was hungry for a snack. I had one of these granola bars, which was unremarkable overall. It did, however, hold me over for a while longer.

IMG_0010

In celebration of one of my coworker’s birthdays, another coworker had her husband bring us all Thai food for lunch! We had food from this awesome place that was new to me, where you can pick noodles or rice, choose a sauce, and add whatever protein you want. Asian food, although it is one of my favorite genres of sustenance, used to be my biggest fear food. I considered it scary because of all of the unknown ingredients, and there is no way in hell that I would have eaten a lunch from a place like this a year ago. I am so glad that I have moved far enough along in my recovery to challenge myself with foods like this, because those noodles were damn good.

IMG_0008

As I tend to do when confronted with foods that are a little more anxiety-provoking for me, I knew shortly after lunch was over that I had not eaten quite enough to hold me over for very long. I ate the apple that I had brought to work with me, along with this fantastic chocolate and mint fudge from Crate & Barrel that my coworker provided for our dessert.

IMG_0007

Before the end of my shift, I had a few orange slices from a delightfully crisp orange that another coworker shared with me. Nothin’ beats good citrus this time of year.

IMG_0009

After work, I headed to the gym to get some exercise. On my way there, I ate a mini Luna bar, some smoked almonds, and a mandarin orange. I didn’t take a picture of the orange, but it looked pretty orange-ish.

IMG_0011

After I was finished working out, I headed back home. One of my closest long-time friends and I have a tradition of watching the terribly trashy TV show The Millionaire Matchmaker together, and the new season started a couple of weeks ago. My friend was coming over for dinner so that we could catch up on some episodes, but I was pretty hungry before she got there. I snacked on a few carrots while I made a salad for our dinner, which we enjoyed with Hawaiian pizza once she arrived.IMG_0013

As is to be expected, The Millionaire Matchmaker did not disappoint. That show is like watching a car accident. It’s painful, but I simply can’t look away. After my friend left, I took a bath to warm up because holy shit it is so damn cold outside and then got ready for bed. I didn’t sleep well the night before last, so I was pretty tired. However, I was also pretty hungry. I enjoyed a Hershey’s Kiss and some toast with peanut butter before collapsing under my comforter and called it a night.

That finishes out this week’s What I Ate Wednesday post! I hope your New Year’s Eve is safe, fun, and full of hope for the coming year. See you in 2015!

2 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday 12/30: Birthdays And Trashy Television

Leave a Reply

