Worthwhile Reads 12/27

Good morning! It’s Sunday, which means that it’s time for me to link up with Amanda to share some things worth checking out on the Internet. I didn’t do a lot of browsing this week, it being Christmas and all, but I was still able to come up with some good reads. Enjoy!

Recovery

The Return Of My Eating Disorder

This is a great article about how restricting foods in the name of health can trigger an eating disorder, especially for those who have survived one in the past.

Coming To Terms With My Recovery Progress

I love how honest this post is. It takes courage to admit that you are not fully recovered when you may “look” recovered to the outside world. Something that I have learned in recovery is that only I know if I feel my best, thus only I will know when I am fully recovered. Although it is terrifying and challenging to admit to yourself and others that you are not fully recovered, it is also empowering. Only we have the power to determine how we want to live our lives and take the steps necessary to live them that way.

Counting Calories: Women’s Greatest Threat?

I agree with so much of this author’s wonderful post. Counting calories entirely disempowered me. It destroyed what little trust I had in my body, and it made me my own enemy. Although I sometimes feel extreme for saying it, I now believe that no good can come of long-term calorie counting as a method of weight control.

Your Eating Disorder Recovery Has To Come First

I appreciate the argument that recovery has to come first because your disorder has come first for so long. Although I prioritize recovery much more often now than I did in the beginning, I am still guilty of choosing disordered behaviors over positive steps toward recovery from time to time. Sure, I’ll journal…while hungry. Okay, I’ll meditate…as a way to eat dinner later. I’ll spend some time practicing self-care…after I finish these sit-ups. It can be tempting to work recovery around my disorder, but I know deep down that this will not produce the lasting, full recovery that I desire.

Life, Etc.

Why Judging People For Buying Unhealthy Food Is Classist

I believe that everybody is doing what they are doing for a reason, and if we try to understand those reasons rather than judging individuals’ actions at face value, we can begin to relate to one another much more effectively.

4 Simple Questions That Can Revamp A Sensitive Soul’s Health

Great things to keep in mind for those of us who feel like we are more sensitive than the general population.

That’s all I have for you this week! I need to move out of the house I’ve been staying in today, and we are supposed to be getting a pretty nasty winter storm. Wish me luck! I hope the rest of your Sunday is delightful! IMG_47308

4 thoughts on “Worthwhile Reads 12/27

  1. Wonderful post – particularly enjoyed ‘Your eating disorder recovery has to come first’. It is so easy to just put it on the back burner and convince yourself you’re still doing all you should when actually you’re letting things slip. Very though provoking.

Leave a Reply

