Five Things Friday 12/12

Happy Friday, everybody! Welcome to this week’s Five Things Friday post, where I link up with Clare to share some of this past week’s happenings. Yesterday’s post was kind of heavy, and I’m feeling the need for a little more lightheartedness, so I’m going to focus on the good stuff going on in my life right now.

Five Things I Ate

IMG_4529_fotor

Tortellini with vegetables and pesto made by my friend for our weekly viewing of The Voice. Speaking of which, if Matt McAndrew doesn’t win I’m going to lose my shit.

IMG_4553_fotor

For December’s birthday treats at work, I made a flourless chocolate cake topped with crushed peppermint, as well as miniature cheesecakes with huckleberry whipped cream. I had a little taste of each, and they were pretty damn tasty, if I do say so myself.

IMG_4559_fotor

We had a 20% off coffee sale at work the other day, which translates to a completely bat-shit crazy day of work. Luckily, we were well-staffed and my boss brought in egg rolls for lunch!

IMG_4564_fotor

The greatest vegetarian chili ever, with a side salad.

IMG_4514

Part of an incredible pumpkin tart that my coworker brought into work last weekend. For a pumpkin fanatic like myself, it was to die for.

Five Things I Pinned

Maya Angelou quote, inspiration, motivation

Absolutely.

Tuesday Tip #15 - Stress Relief // JennMann…

Excellent, practical advice for reducing and managing stress.RICE KRISPIES TREAT COOKIES // The Kitchy Kitchen

It seems entirely impossible for these to be anything but amazing.

I find all of the effort that goes into advertising fascinating.

self-care-kit-amope-main

Such a good idea!

Five Things Making Me Happy

IMG_1927

1. My big bro is coming for Christmas! He’ll be here next week, and I’m beyond excited to see him! If we take any road trips, the above scenario will most likely be reenacted.

2. I managed to get my act together and pack up most of the packages that I have to ship out for Christmas gifts. When your closest friends live across the country, it makes Christmas gift giving a little more complicated. Luckily, they’re 100% worth it.

3.Tis the season for these. I don’t usually love white chocolate, but Candy Cane Hershey’s Kisses rock my world.

4. My mom and I have had some good talks lately. I am typically pretty reserved about my recovery around family, but lately I have made an effort to share more, even if that means just telling my mom that I’m having a hard time.

5. I talked some more with my cousin in Chicago about moving the other day, and I’m getting so excited to begin a new adventure in a new city! It’s still a few months down the road, but I think it will end up being a great choice.

That wraps up this week’s Five Things Friday post! I hope you have a fantastic weekend. I’m looking forward to sharing some good reads with you on Sunday, so be sure to check back in!

2 thoughts on “Five Things Friday 12/12

  1. 1. That chocolate cake looks DELISH
    2. I didn’t know candy cane kisses existed, but I waaaaant!
    3. Hope you’re having a lovely week, and I hope your visit with your brother is great! 🙂

Leave a Reply

