What I Ate Wednesday 12/9: Flexible Feeding

Good morning! Today is Wednesday, meaning I’m linking up with Peas and Crayons to share some foods from the past week with you. With Christmas rapidly approaching (a little too rapidly, if you ask me), I have been quite busy. Between longer shifts at work, failed attempts at homemade Christmas gifts, and shopping, I haven’t had as much free time on my hands as usual. I like being a bit busy, but business means that my meals are not quite as structured as usual. Honestly, I think that this is a good challenge for me since rigidity surrounding meals is still something for me to work on. So, for this week’s What I Ate Wednesday post, I am sharing some examples of ways that I have had to be more flexible with my food over the last week.

Breakfasts are pretty standard, but occasionally some variation is necessary. The other day, for example, I was dog-sitting overnight and had to get creative with my oatmeal add-ins. I brought some almonds to the house with me, with the intention of toasting them and adding them to my oatmeal as I usually do. However, I accidentally burned the living daylights out of them instead. Knowing I needed something in my oatmeal, I tossed in some trail mix consisting of raisins, cranberries, pistachios, and almonds. Hot raisins and pistachios don’t totally rock my world, but it wasn’t bad as far as last-minute improvisations go.

IMG_4525

When I’m home, I often eat eggs for lunch. Usually, I eat them with tortilla chips or pieces of corn tortillas cooked with the eggs, but I had some leftover pita wedges and hummus in my refrigerator the other day. After nearly burning down my house trying to toast the pitas (ultimately, tweezers were involved), I was able to construct this tasty variation of a standard lunch: eggs, zucchini, and onion cooked together with a side of pita wedges, hummus, and salsa. On a side note, I may or may not have a problem when it comes to not burning foods.

IMG_4520

Afternoon snacks vary from day to day, but mandarin oranges have been staples as of late because of their portability, deliciousness, and adorable appearance.

IMG_4546

Busier days have led to more variation in dinners lately, as well. Every year, my town hosts something called the Art Walk in the beginning of December. Quite a few downtown business stay open late, serve drinks and food, host live music, and offer sales. Mostly, it’s a good chance to observe middle-aged people who have had a few too many cocktails, but It’s usually a pretty good time. I hadn’t gone in years, so I decided to join my mom and her friends last week. Before going on the Art Walk, I met up with them at my favorite pizza place. The pizza in which I partook had Canadian bacon, mushrooms, and olives. Yes, please.

IMG_4508

Snacks before bed are still a necessity, and they haven’t gone through too many transformations. A few days ago, however, I ran out of bananas, which is almost a state of emergency. Fortunately, I had some delicious organic honey, a few drops of which I added to my peanut butter toast to finish off the day.

IMG_4551Flexibility is one of the greatest gifts of recovery. To be able to eat pizza out with others instead of heading home to weigh out my vegetables feels incredible. To not completely lose my mind over running out of bananas or burning almonds is miraculous when I remember the state of my mind only twelve short months ago. Last year, I made it through the Christmas season, but I made it through in a state of rigidity and semi-starvation. This year, I hope to wholeheartedly immerse myself in the season and enjoy all that it has to offer.

That wraps up this week’s What I Ate Wednesday post! I’ll see you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

