Five Things Friday 12/5

Good morning! If you live anywhere around me, it’s a cold and snowy one to be sure. I have the day off today because I have to work tomorrow, so I’m going to try to finish up some Christmas errands…or maybe start them. I also have an appointment to get my eyes checked because I broke my glasses the other day in an attempt to fix them (how does that even happen?) and I think that it was time for a check-up anyway. Before any of that happens, however, I’m linking up with Clare to share my week with you in multiples of five!

Five Things I Ate

IMG_4425

My favorite panini with fig and prosciutto while out to lunch with my dad.

IMG_4473

Oatmeal has weaseled its way into my afternoon snack repertoire as the weather has gotten colder, and I picked up some of this pumpkin variety on sale the other day. It’s quite tasty with almonds or pecans, and I’ve stirred in some real pumpkin a time or two with fantastic results.

IMG_4469

A sample of this chocolate bar at work the other day. As far as free chocolate goes, it was pretty good.

IMG_4445

A fajita chicken and mushroom omelet while having lunch with my cousin and grandpa. If you can’t tell by the plate and the appearance of the omelet, it was definitely what I like to refer to as an “old people restaurant,” but it wasn’t bad with the addition of copious amounts of hot sauce.

IMG_4482

A mini Luna bar. They’re so cute!

Five Things I Pinned

IMG_3321

This chocolate caramel tart with sea salt looks incredible. Something tells me I know what I’ll be making for this month’s birthday treats at work!

"My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style."<br /><br />M.Angelou | #mayaangelou

Brilliant words from a brilliant woman.

How to make sugar scrubs plus 6 homemade sugar scrub recipes

I’ve had moderate success making scrubs in the past, and they make great gifts in the dry months of winter!

Adorable homemade gift idea.

I’m not exactly “outdoorsy”.

Five Things Making Me Happy

IMG_4498

I found this amazing blast from the past in my house yesterday. Needless to say, I cannot wait to load up my car’s CD player and blast Nelly’s Hot in Herre as loudly as possible.

IMG_4501

These things may be eyesores, but they are absolute lifesavers when it comes to walking in the snow, and I’ve fallen one to many times to care about them being ridiculous-looking. If you walk outside on the ice very often, these are a worthwhile investment.

IMG_4502

I found these cute coffee mugs at a thrift store last weekend for 25 cents! Seeing as I’ve been gradually massacring all of the mugs in this house, I figured I should start using my own from now on.

IMG_4434

A lovely message on the bathroom stall door in the brewery.

One of my friend’s first questions to me when she came to visit last week was, “Have you watched Love Actually yet this year?” This is one of the very few movies that I can watch again and again and still enjoy entirely. My friend and I watched it last week and I loved it as much as I do every year!

That wraps up this week’s Five Things Friday post! I told my coworkers that I would bring them lunch today, so I’d better brave the snowy roads and actually follow through on that. I hope you have an excellent weekend!

Leave a Reply

