What I Ate Wednesday 11/26: Taco Tuesday X2

Hello and Happy (American) Thanksgiving Eve to you all! I hope you are able to spend the holiday with the people you love, feeling thankful for all that is wonderful in your life, in addition to the challenges that provide opportunities to grow. But let’s not get ahead of ourselves – Thanksgiving is still a day away, after all. Today is only Wednesday, which means I’m linking up with Peas and Crayons to share a day’s worth of food with you. Yesterday was taco-riffic for me, something about which I have no complaints whatsoever.

I got my day started a little bit later than I would have liked, but taking the time to eat breakfast is pretty damn important to me. I was able to guzzle my coffee before heading to work (although not without spilling some on my white shirt and uttering an expletive or two, naturally), but I had to take my oatmeal with me to finish in the car. It may not be ideal, but the alternatives were either rapidly shoveling oatmeal in my mouth at home or gambling on having time to eat once I got to work, and I don’t like to gamble when it comes to whether or not I have a chance to eat my breakfast. So, I made it work.

IMG_4352

Mid-morning, I got pretty hungry once again. I had an americano with soy milk and cinnamon (followed by two or three more cups of coffee), a Luna protein bar, and a little taste of an apple cinnamon danish that my coworker offered to me.

IMG_4356 IMG_4358 IMG_4359

When lunchtime rolled around, I was pretty pumped to eat another one of my Taco Tuesday taco salads. To my pile of vegetables, I added black beans, salsa, hot sauce, and some fantastic homemade guacamole that I brought to share with my coworkers. Tragically, I was fresh out of tortilla chip crumbs at home, so I ate my taco salad with a side of barbecue PopChips, carrots with hummus, and some yogurt.

IMG_4361

A couple of hours after lunch, I started getting hungry again and sliced up an apple, which I ate with string cheese. I also ate one of our dark chocolate sea salt caramels that we got in stock for the holidays, because I was still a little hungry and they’re damn delicious.

IMG_4363

After I got off of work, I headed to the gym to spend some time using the elliptical while reading. I’m still committed to no intense exercise for a while, so I kept the resistance at a manageable level and made a conscious effort to not over-exert myself while I exercised. I was getting a little hungry before my workout, so I ate one of my homemade granola bars and a few raisins.

IMG_4365

I didn’t end up reading while using the elliptical because Seinfeld was on TV, and it didn’t take long for me to get sucked into the episode. My book sat on the edge of the elliptical like a stage prop, but it was nice to just zone out a little bit after a long day at work.

After my workout, I headed over to my friend’s house to watch The Voice. She said that she had dinner covered, and when I got there I found out that she was making chicken tacos. Luckily for me, I have absolutely no problem with Mexican food twice in one day. The tacos were simple: corn tortillas, some tomato and mango salsa, sour cream, chicken, and cabbage. For such a basic recipe, I thought they were quite satisfying. I also had a small glass of Prosecco (a mini challenge of liquid calories), which was refreshing and light.

IMG_4367

When I got home from my friend’s house, I spent some time hanging out with the dog, checked email, showered, and just puttered around for a while. Around the time that I started yawning uncontrollably, I decided I should probably hit the hay. I was also fairly hungry again, and going to bed hungry is no longer an option for me. Before bed, I had a snack consisting of a piece of toast with peanut butter and a banana mixed with a few pieces of cereal. My snack hit the spot and I was ready for some satisfactory sleep, although my dreams were off-the-charts weird. I’d rather have weird dreams than no dreams at all, which was my experience for much of my eating disorder, so I’m grateful for even the strangest ones these days!

IMG_4368

That wraps up this week’s What I Ate Wednesday post! My bestest of best friends is coming into town today, so I probably won’t be posting much for a while, but I hope your Thanksgiving is filled to the brim with gratitude. Don’t let your family drive you crazy, and don’t forget to take care of yourself.  Cheers!

Leave a Reply

