Five Things Friday 11/21

It’s already Friday, which means it’s already time for another Five Things Friday post, courtesy of Clare! Honestly, the last few days have been a little on the tough side for me, but I’m heading into the weekend feeling optimistic, attempting to put self-care first. Without further ado, here’s the last week of my life in a nutshell:

Five Things I Ate

IMG_4252

West African Groundnut Stew, out of the More-With-Less cookbook, which I can’t recommend highly enough. My church holds a fair trade international gift festival ever year, and we always serve this stew. I bought some and shared it with my coworkers the next day, and it received good reviews all around. It is hands-down one of my favorite recipes of all time.

IMG_4256

I went out for sushi with my mom the other night. I’m kind of boring when it comes to sushi, but who doesn’t love a good California roll? I also had miso soup, salad, and some edamame, of course.

IMG_4270

For my weekly viewing of The Voice with my friend, it was my turn to make the main dish. I opted for a pasta bake, which had ground turkey, cream cheese, tomato sauce, rotini pasta, and some mozzarella. I wasn’t totally sure how it would turn out, but it was pretty darn good. My friend made roasted asparagus and salad as accompaniments, which didn’t disappoint.

IMG_4315

My coworker brought in some macadamia nut cookies from Hawaii the other day. At first, I didn’t think they looked that appealing, but I’m glad I tried one because they were melt-in-your-mouth delicious.

IMG_4317

The other day, I impulsively bought myself a miniature bottle of Prosecco. Then, I entirely forgot about it for several days. When I was talking to a friend over FaceTime last night, I remembered that it was in the refrigerator and I decided to have a taste. My friend and I rationalized that it wasn’t technically drinking alone because I was talking to somebody, thus it was completely socially acceptable. And this bottle is the greatest invention ever because it has a screw-on lid that can be reapplied, unlike a traditional sparkling wine cork.

Five Things I Pinned

badly need some waterproof boots.

Motivational Print Typography Poster “Do Something Today" Wall Decor Inspirational Print Home Decor Winter Gift New Year Resolution

Life happens one day as a time. Make those days worth living. 

I also show my affection for my pets by saying their names in high-pitched, deafening tones, which they love. I mean, really, is there any other way?

Excellent advice.

The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness cannot overcome it.

Five Things Making Me Happy

IMG_4323

1. Yesterday, the weather was dreary and depressing, which calls for a warm bath, a nice candle, and a mug of hot tea.

IMG_4152

2. I don’t actually like green tea that much, but I tried some of these mints at work and they are so good! I have a tin of the chai flavored ones and I love them.

IMG_4324

3. The people whose house I’m staying in have a dryer, but they told me that they rarely use it, hanging their clothes up to dry instead. Since I’ve been living here, I’ve been doing the same and I really like it. Sure, you don’t get that fresh-from-the-dryer warmth, but there’s something very intentional about hanging clothes out to dry that I enjoy. Plus, it’s more environmentally friendly, which makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside.

IMG_4273

4. My Aeropress. You guys. This is the absolute best way to make a single cup of coffee. I would be lost without it! That mug, on the other hand, has seen better days. Damn you, Pinterest and your destined-to-fail craft ideas.

5. I have been thinking lately about how fortunate I am to have remained in close contact with my best friends from college. I FaceTime weekly with three of my friends, and it is absolutely wonderful. I have actually grown closer to them in the year and a half since graduation, which is such a gift.

That wraps up this week’s Five Things Friday post! I hope you have a wonderful, safe weekend!

2 thoughts on “Five Things Friday 11/21

Leave a Reply

