Thinking Out Loud 11/20: Four Things

Why hello there! I hope your Thursday is off to a solid start. I’m linking up with Amanda again this week to share some of my thoughts with you guys. In fact, I’m stealing two things from Amanda this week, as I am also completing the survey that she posted last week. I’m doing the survey partially because I couldn’t think of anything else to write, and partially because I think it’s beneficial to sometimes have posts that are a little less recovery-focused and more about me as a person. Now that my longwinded introduction is over, on with the survey!

Four Names People Call Me (Other Than My Real Name) 

1. E, primarily used by my college roommate.

IMG_3790

2. Squiggle. Apparently I was a long, wiggly baby when I was born, thus the name Squiggle came to be. 23 years later, it’s still my dad’s nickname for me.

IMG_2213

3. E Pie, Angel Pie, Pumpkin Pie, anything else followed by Pie. My mom gets credit for this one.

img_2533_0056

4. Thumble-Erin. My brother used to call me this and, for some reason, it filled me with rage. Brothers have a way of knowing which buttons to push, don’t they?

reading to j and e

On a side note, I wish I still owned that colorful getup I have on in this picture.

Four Jobs I’ve Had

1. Farm hand on my dad’s dairy farm, which mostly consisted of slipping on the ice and swearing under my breath while walking through heaps of mud. On the plus side, the calves were unbelievably cute until they did something to piss me off, which was a regular occurrence.

0504001543(0001)

2. Supervised visitation facilitator. This job was a little bit emotionally draining, but I enjoyed being able to see into other people’s lives and, in the best of situations, watch parents build relationships with their children. In the worst of situations, however, it was far less encouraging.

3. Administrative assistant and intern at a grief center for children and families. This was the job where I learned that I want to work primarily with adults in my career. I facilitated a grief group with incarcerated women and it was one of the best experiences I had while working at the center.

4. Barista. When I think about leaving this job, I am filled with sadness as one question plagues me: in what other job can I consume unlimited, free coffee?

IMG_3965

Four Movies I’ve Watched More Than Once (And Can Quote)

I honestly don’t like movies all that much. I usually have a hard time paying attention long enough to see the plot through, but there are a few that I have loved enough at one point or another to watch quite a few times.

1. Mean Girls (of course).

2. The 40-Year-Old Virgin.

3. American Beauty. 

4. Matilda. I once watched this movie eleven times in one week as a child, and I’m guessing I could come up with a few quotes if I thought about it for a while.

Four Books I Would Recommend

1. Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris

2. Bel Canto by Ann Patchett

3. A People’s History of the United States by Howard Zinn

4. What is the What by Dave Eggers

Four Places I’ve Lived

1. Indiana, where I went to college.

IMG_1957

2. Thies, Senegal.

IMG_3193

3. My dad’s dairy farm

IMG_2465

4. My mom’s house.

IMG_2685

Four Places I’ve Been

1. Venice, Italy.

IMG_0365

2. Chicago, Illinois.

IMG_1781

3. New York City to visit my big bro.

IMG_1669

4. The National Civil Rights Museum in Memphis, Tennessee.

IMG_2232

Four Places I Would Rather Be Right Now

1. Somewhere tropical, where the temperatures are well above 20 degrees, which is the state of affairs in my current location.

2. In Michigan, visiting this lovely friend that I talked to today and miss oh-so-much.

IMG_3211

3. Eating mangoes with my host sisters in Senegal.

[000274]

4. Sipping on an espresso in France or Italy.

IMG_2839

Four Things I Don’t Eat

Honestly, I eat pretty much anything and everything. However, there are some foods I’m less fond of than others.

1. Shrimp. I can tolerate most seafood, but, given a choice, shrimp is a no-go for me.

2. Strawberry jelly. I find the texture of it highly unappealing. Give me some raspberry or grape any day of the week, though.

3. Beef tongue. My college roommate loved beef tongue tacos and tried to get me to eat them multiple times, but I just couldn’t get past my mental block about it.

4. Dannon Light & Fit yogurt. It was one of the foods I ate most often when I was sickest, and now I don’t want to touch it with a ten-foot pole.

Four Of My Favorite Foods

1. Oatmeal (with a side of cat).

IMG_3391

2. Peanut butter.

IMG_1143

3. Pizza.

IMG_3576

4. Chocolate.

IMG_3752

Four TV Shows That I Watch

1. The Voice.

2. Chopped, Master Chef, and any other cooking competition.

3. Teen Mom. I’m not even ashamed.

4. Although there aren’t new episodes anymore, reruns of Seinfeld, The Office, and Arrested Development still make me laugh out loud more than any other show.

Four Things I’m Looking Forward To This Year

Seeing as this year only has about six weeks left in it, I’m going to interpret this as things I’m looking forward to in the next year.

1. My best friend coming for Thanksgiving next week. Yippee!

IMG_3243

2. Christmas, of course. Family, delicious food, sentimental ornaments, and presents. What’s not to love?

3. Moving to Chicago! Ah!

4. Visiting friends and family in Oregon and Seattle sometime in the next couple of months. I know a number of fabulous people who live there, and it’s really not that much of a trip for me to make. I just need to plan it and go already, damn it!

Four Things I’m Always Saying

1. Fuck / what the fuck?

2. Like (a habit I would happily break).

3. Absolutely.

4. Ridiculous.

That wraps up my Thinking Out Loud for this week. Enjoy the rest of your Thursday, and I’ll catch up with you for a Five Things Friday post tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud 11/20: Four Things

  1. And here I was thinking I was the only person that had a single letter for a nickname! A tonne of people in my personal life call me “A,” which I used to think was just short (and lazy) for Amanda, but I guess it’s also because I have a tendency to say “eh?” a lot. What can I say… I’m definitely Canadian 🙂

Leave a Reply

