What I Ate Wednesday 11/12: Bacon And Bran Muffins

Good morning! I don’t know what the weather’s like where you live, but it seems as though winter has officially shown its face around these parts. Somehow, I have managed to remove my body from the heat vents on the floor long enough to go to work, socialize, and eat, which means that I am linking up with Peas and Crayons to share yesterday’s food with you. Enjoy, and stay warm!

Although oatmeal and coffee start my morning every day, they are especially appreciated on frigid mornings.

IMG_4210

After a couple of hours at work, I was hungry again and a coworker and I split a blueberry-ginger bran muffin. It was fabulous toasted, alongside an americano topped with soy foam and cinnamon.

IMG_4213

When lunch rolled around, I was hungry. It was Taco Tuesday at work again, so I added pinto beans, a little ground beef, salsa, and hot sauce to a bunch o’ vegetables (including some questionable-looking avocado) with some tortilla chip crumbs on top. I brought along some hummus and carrots as well, and ate a container of yogurt with orange zest added to it (the best thing) a little while later.

IMG_4215

I also had a little piece of Cadbury chocolate that my coworker brought to share.

IMG_4216

Later in the afternoon, I was hungry for a snack and ate an apple with some almonds and raisins, which I shared with a coworker.

IMG_4217

When I got home from work, I psyched myself up to brave the cold in order to walk the dog. I was also hungry again, so I ate a bit of raisin bran with plain yogurt and bundled up, leash in hand.

IMG_4219

After my long (and bitterly cold) walk with the dog, I threw together a quick dinner. Since I ate a big salad for lunch, there was a sandwich-shaped whole in my heart by dinnertime. Why is it that when you put anything between two pieces of bread, it’s infinitely better? I had some bacon, avocado, onion, and lettuce on toast with a bit of butternut squash soup.

IMG_4223

I had to eat my dinner at a mouth-burning rate because I had plans to see Gone Girl with two of my coworkers at 6:30.  When I got to the theater, I could tell that I hadn’t eaten quite enough for dinner and I knew that I wouldn’t be able to enjoy the movie if I was hungry the whole time. My coworkers got a bag of popcorn and I ate a handful to tide me over. Unsurprisingly, popcorn does not photograph well in a darkened theater. Side note regarding Gone Girl: I thought they did an excellent job with the movie. Even though I knew what was going to happen, it was fun seeing how the plot was carried out on the big screen.

IMG_4225

Perhaps I ate dinner too early, or maybe I just didn’t eat enough for dinner. In either case, when I got home I knew that I would definitely need something to eat before going to bed. I talked to a good friend on FaceTime for a while before I started falling asleep at the computer, at which point I made a piece of toast with peanut butter, which I ate with a couple of pieces of cereal and some banana before I sunk into a deep, warm sleep for the night.

IMG_4227

That wraps up this week’s What I Ate Wednesday post! In writing this, I was reminded of the greatest gift of recovery: freedom. I have the freedom to eat a piece of chocolate at work if I want some, the freedom to share food with others, the freedom to go to a movie that I want to see, and the freedom to participate in Taco Tuesday with coworkers. When I have harder days, I try to remind myself that bargaining with my disorder means giving up these freedoms that I cherish so much now. The false sense of control given to me by my disorder is no match for the genuine, life-giving freedom of recovery.

Leave a Reply

