Worthwhile Reads 11/9

Oh, hey, it’s Sunday! That means it’s time for me to link up with Amanda to share some valuable things I found on the Internet this week while sorting through the mass of absolute nonsense out there. I’m sharing at my church this morning about my semester spent in Senegal, which I’m a little bit nervous about. I’m planning on posting a transcript of what I say on the blog, so look out for it in the next few days. Wish me luck, and enjoy the reads!

Recovery

The Fast Diet: A Fast Route To An Eating Disorder?

One of my old bosses tried out this diet, and I don’t see any way that it could possibly be good for one’s health. Most importantly, where is one’s quality of life when they are spending two days out of the week miserable and starving?

The Path Less Traveled: Anorexia And Beyond

The time in between “sick” and “well” can be the most challenging to define and understand, as this author astutely observes from her own experience.

How To Become A Body Image Outcast

Not going along with the mainstream culture of body-shaming and dieting can feel surprisingly lonely and isolating. Here are some great tips from somebody who has decided to be an outcast in such a society.

What People Are Really Saying When They Comment on Women’s Bodies

An amusing video that helps us realize how ridiculous our critiques of others’ bodies are and what they say about our fucked up beliefs, especially when it comes to women’s bodies.

How I Learned That You’ve Got To Stand Up For Your Own Body

I was the first person to be concerned about my eating disorder. I knew deep down that something was wrong even when medical professionals dismissed my worries, and I wish that I had sought other doctors rather than trying to convince myself that I was fine. You are the only one who truly knows your body.

Dear Victoria’s Secret, There’s No Such Thing As A Perfect Body

I’m glad to see that there has been a significant backlash to this absurd campaign.

Adults And Kids Were Asked The One Thing They Would Change About Their Bodies

It’s sad how we learn to pick apart our bodies over time rather than appreciate all that they are capable of doing.

Life, Etc.

Shattered Image

This is a great journaling prompt if you have trouble letting go of things others have said that have hurt you.

9 Reasons Why It’s Okay To Not Know What You’re Doing With Your Life Right Now

There can be so much pressure in young adulthood to figure everything out. Let’s all just take a deep breath and go with the flow. Deal? Deal.

5 Steps To Soulful Self-Love

The experience of anorexia is the antithesis of loving oneself. Lately, I have been trying to intentionally care for myself and treat myself with love. It’s not easy, but I know that it is a necessary part of lasting recovery, and of a happy life.

9 Self-Care Strategies To Reduce Stress 

During my senior year of college, I was under a lot of stress. I worked full time, had my senior social work practicum, and I was a student hell-bent on a 4.0. Not to mention, I was starving myself and exercising obsessively. Whenever self-care came up in my social work classes, I thought I was in the clear. As far as I was concerned, exercise was my self care. Never mind that I hated it or that it was breaking down my body. Because exercise was “good for me” as an overweight person, I thought that it was sufficient as a self-care practice. I can’t help but wonder what would have happened if I had been able to see the problem that exercise had become in my life, and explored other ways of caring for myself.

That’s it for this week’s reads! Enjoy the remainder of your weekend!

Leave a Reply

