Five Things Friday 11/7: Apple Cider Vinegar and Murder Mysteries

Good morning! I have this Friday off of work, and I am trying to decide what to do with my day. I am speaking at my church this Sunday on my time in Senegal and I am rather unprepared, so I’m hoping to spend a few hours feverishly whipping together some interesting stories today. But for now, I’m linking up with Clare to share some of this past week’s highlights with you!

Five Things I Ate

IMG_4168

Half of a day-old strawberry white chocolate bran muffin with an americano. We all know that white chocolate is normal chocolate’s inferior counterpart, but it was a pretty decent snack anyway.

IMG_4175

I tried this flavor of yogurt for the first time because my usual go-to corner greek yogurt wasn’t on sale and I’m cheap. Fortunately, this was delicious mixed with some generic Rice Krispie cereal. Don’t judge me. It’s the only cereal I had, okay?

IMG_4181

Tomato soup and side salad at trivia night with some friends.

IMG_4182

After hearing oodles about the miracle that is apple cider vinegar, I decided to try drinking it for a few days to see how I felt. I drank a tablespoon, heavily diluted with water, every day and It did not end well. It turns out that drinking apple cider vinegar gives me gut-wrenching stomach aches, so I will not be jumping on that bandwagon. Three cheers for listening to my body, though!

IMG_4184

I tried this tea that I found in the house I’m staying in, expecting it to be kind of nasty. I was pleasantly surprised to find out that it is actually incredibly delightful. Saying it tastes like eggnog is a stretch, but it’s rather delicious. The only downside is that I am now hooked and I can’t find anywhere to buy more!

Five Things I Pinned

Less Catcalls, More Cats Art Print

It is of the utmost importance that I own this print. Right meow.

gold feather tumbler

After my last crafting success, I’m thinking I may be able to pull something like this off.

vegan lentil and quinoa stew

It’s stew weather, y’all.

Last year, we ended up with enough leftover turkey to feed a small country. Perhaps with some guidelines, that scenario could be avoided this time around.

So beautiful.

Five Things Making Me Happy

IMG_4145

If you haven’t checked out this podcast, I highly recommend it. The podcast unfolds the details of an actual murder that happened in 1999 week by week, and I am completely engrossed in the story.

IMG_4173

Reading in coffee shops is one of my favorite activities of all time, and one I have been able to engage in lately. I ordered The Eating Disorders Sourcebook, and it has been a great read for me right now. Although it may seem bleak, it reminds me of how sick I used to be, something I need when my disorder tries to persuade me to settle for less than fully recovered. Since I hope to work with those suffering from eating disorders one day, it is also providing helpful knowledge for that! The book is certainly more data-based than emotionally driven, but I am getting a ton out of reading it.

IMG_4178

The cat that I was accidentally starving a while back is doing exceptionally well! She’s still kind of an asshole, as evidenced by her compulsion to sit on my computer whenever possible, but I’m glad she’s on her way to health once again. She has started grooming herself once more and seems like her old, obnoxious, cat self.

IMG_4180

My dad invited me to come to a trivia night where he was the emcee and our team came in third! We didn’t win anything, but it was fun to go out and do something different with friends.

IMG_4142

Although the weather has been a little dreary, I’m kind of diggin’ it. It’s the perfect temperature for walking outside, as long as it’s not raining, and I have wholeheartedly taken advantage of that.

That wraps up this week’s Five Things Friday post! Have a fantastic weekend and I will see you on Sunday for some Worthwhile Reads action!

Leave a Reply

