Worthwhile Reads 11/2: Red Pandas and Dead Cats

Hello and welcome to November! I hope your Halloween was safe and delightful. I had a fun night at a friend’s party and my red panda costume turned out wonderfully. This was all thanks to my mom, of course, who called on the costume-making skills of my childhood to help me out.

IMG_4119

In more tragic news, the cat that I have been caring for died on Halloween night. I could tell that the end was near, as he had begun lying around all day, breathing heavily, and was refusing food and water. In some ways, it was a relief that he died because it was difficult to watch him dying and feel as though I couldn’t do anything. It’s never pleasant waking up to a dead cat, however. Fortunately, the grounds caretaker was home and we gave him a proper burial in the little garden outside the back door. He is survived by one hyperactive dog and a handful of tropical fish.

IMG_4063

Cheers, Tora. You were a good cat even though you were a little gross. See you on the other side, friend.

In between providing hospice care to a cat and creating a red panda costume, I was able to find some good reads online this week and I’m linking up with Amanda to share them with you. Enjoy!

Recovery

How Being Hospitalized For Anorexia Helped Me Save My Own Life

A beautiful account of time spent in inpatient treatment.

How To Exercise Out Of Self-Love And Not Due To Fat-Shaming

Our society is painfully obsessed with exercise solely for weight loss purposes. Let’s explore some other motivations, shall we?

Coping With Weight Restoration

Some simple tips for coping when it’s tempting to fall back. As you may know if you’re been flowing my last few posts, I have had kind of a difficult week. Reading these provided good motivation for me to continue on the right path.

Start Counting Your Calories Boys And Girls

I see our country moving farther and farther away from actually listening to our bodies, encouraging calorie counting now more than ever before. This really, really frightens me and I’m glad that I’m not the only one.

Eating Disorders In The Ivory Tower: How College Campuses Can Help Or Hurt

I didn’t know that I needed them at the time, but in retrospect I am acutely aware of how few resources were available to those struggling with disordered eating at my college. Although I believe that awareness and accessibility of resources should be increased in all sectors, colleges and universities should be especially well prepared.

Life, Etc.

The Four Words You Should Never Say To A Depressed Person (Or Anyone, Probably)

Amen to this.

9 Personal Questions That You Should Never Feel Obligated To Answer

If one more person asks me when I’m going to start using my major, I will need to resist the urge to gut punch them. We shouldn’t feel like we need to answer to anybody else about our lives.

Happy Halloween: Actual PhD’s Respond To Amazon’s “Women’s Sexy PhD” Costume And It Is A Treat

These comments are hilarious.

Why Restoring Self-Trust Will Transform Your Life

In a society concerned with doing everything right, let’s start turning inward to find out our individual needs.

What It Looks Like To Really Take Care Of Yourself

When I became obsessed with exercise, I saw that as the primary way that I took care of myself. Ironically, I was doing significant damage to my body. Since that time, I have had to look beyond the parameters of dieting and exercising to redefine self-care and I have found that there are so many ways to show ourselves love and care every day.

That’s it for this week’s reads! Have a good rest of your weekend, and don’t forget to VOTE on Tuesday (if you’re in the United States, that is). Your voice matters!

2 thoughts on “Worthwhile Reads 11/2: Red Pandas and Dead Cats

  1. Aww, so sorry to hear about Tora. I had a similar experience with my cat, Shadow, who had been a part of my life since I was a baby up until about the age of 18. She was getting so old and senile towards the end that she started to basically lose her mind, pull her hair out all over her body. It was terrible to watch, but I know she was much better off once she passed. Cheers indeed, to Tora! And great link love here!

Leave a Reply

