What I Ate Wednesday 10/29: Trying Out Taco Tuesday

Good morning and happiest of Wednesdays to you! This week has been flying by – I can’t believe it’s already halfway over. And I really can’t believe it’s almost Halloween. As is to be expected, I’m linking up with Peas and Crayons today to share a day’s worth of food with you all.

I still feel conflicted about these posts, because I think overanalyzing food choices is not healthy, at least not for me. However, I have found it helpful for me to participate in them because it reminds me of all of the things I do in a day that require fuel from food. For months, the portions of food that I ate were painfully minuscule.   When I started increasing my calories, I felt as though I was eating huge amounts of food for no reason, and there was a lot of shame associated with that. Looking back over a day of food and realizing that I do not eat unreasonably gigantic quantities of food, and that I lead an active life that requires regular nutritional energy is helpful to me.

A year ago, I took this picture of my breakfast. It was a tiny bowl of oatmeal, with two packets of Splenda, half of a small banana, and 5 dried cranberries. At the time, I thought that it was huge. In retrospect, I am painfully aware that I was starving all of the time, and that this breakfast was nowhere near the amount of food that my body needed.IMG_2582

When you have been on a “diet” for as long as I was, you forget what adequate amounts of food and feel like. Thus, I continue to participate in the What I Ate Wednesday trend. And, with that tangent out of the way, on to the food!

Breakfast was nothing out of the ordinary: oatmeal with almonds, banana, no fucking Splenda, egg whites, and hemp hearts alongside a piping hot cup of coffee. I attempted a craft with this mug and yesterday was my first day using it. The paint stayed okay, although it seems to have started flaking off now that I washed it. Boo.

IMG_4079

On a side note, I embarrassingly burned my lip on oatmeal the other day, and I’m trying to think of cooler explanations in order to avoid explaining an oatmeal-induced burn. I’m open to suggestions.

At work, it was my turn to give a tour of our roasting facility. After I finished with the tour, I was ready for a snack and I grabbed part of a homemade granola bar, and by granola bar I mean an attempt at a granola bar that turned into a conglomeration of things mashed together in a sticky mess. It was tasty, though!

IMG_4081

One of my coworkers began a Taco Tuesday tradition at work, and this week I decided to participate. It’s been going on for a while, but I was always a little bit too fearful to veer away from my traditional lunch. This week, I brought cheese to the party, and I decided to bring a big ol’ bowl of vegetables to turn into a taco salad for myself. It was perfect, really, because I was also nearing the crumb stage of my bag of tortilla chips! From the taco bar options, I added a few black beans, a little ground beef, salsa, some sauteed onions and peppers, a sprinkle of cheese, and hot sauce. I also had some hummus with carrots and a container of yogurt. All in all, it was a highly satisfying midday experience.

IMG_4082

A little before my shift ended, I started to get kind of hungry again. I had begun the monotonous and seemingly never-ending task of bagging candy, so I tasted a chocolate covered pistachio while I bagged them up. No complaints.

IMG_4085

Work got pretty busy right before the end of my shift, and when I got home I was definitely ready for an afternoon snack. I had an apple, along with some Kashi Indigo Morning cereal and plain yogurt.

IMG_4086

When I had finished my snack, I walked the dog so that she would calm the fuck down. After my walk, I ventured downtown to scour thrift stores for supplies to create my halloween costume. As I was walking, it started to lightly rain and I stepped into a coffee shop to buy a cup of tea. Promptly, I dumped the entire cup on the ground when I bumped it with my purse. Oops. Fortunately, the employees were sports about it and gave me some more hot water.

IMG_4090

I stopped by the grocery store to pick up some fruit, vegetables, and a box of cereal before heading home. I had a FaceTime date planned with one of my closest college friends, so I quickly made some stir fried vegetables, rice, and chicken with black bean garlic sauce. I’ve made better, but it was still a satisfactory dinner.

IMG_4091

Don’t these copper countertops look badass? The downside, however, is that they are ridiculously difficult to keep clean. But hey, it adds some rustic flair, right?

After my FaceTime session, I ate a few pieces of cereal while I read. I am dragging out the ending of Gone Girl as long as humanly possible because I don’t want it to end. Seriously, I’m limiting myself to reading one or two pages at a time. The idea of wrapping up the book and not having anything to follow it up was stressing me out, so I ordered two new books that have supposedly been delivered to my house. I’m hoping to finish Gone Girl today and easily glide into one of my new books when I head back to my house tomorrow.

I spent the rest of the evening lounging around. I did a short guided meditation and watched an old episode of Degrassi: The Next Generation because why the hell not. Before I trundled off to bed, I had a piece of toast with peanut butter and called it a day.

IMG_4092

That wraps up this week’s post! I hope you have a fantastic rest of your Wednesday, full of good food and good people.

2 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday 10/29: Trying Out Taco Tuesday

Leave a Reply

