Worthwhile Reads 10/26

I hope your Sunday is off to a good start so far! The last few mornings out here have been beautiful, glad-to-be-alive kinds of mornings and today was no exception. I’m still loving being in this little, unique house, especially in the early morning.

IMG_4068

Despite the fact that I have been entirely engrossed in the book Gone Girl this week, I did manage to find some things worth checking out online, and I’m linking up with Amanda to share them with you. Enjoy!

Recovery

Shame In Recovery from a Restrictive Eating Disorder

Recovery is complicated. While gaining weight is a sign of healing and most certainly a good thing, a wave of difficult emotions can come with that healing.

Feminists Have Food And Body Issues, Too: 5 Ways To Get Over The Shame

Yes, Yes, and YES. In all honesty, I felt quite ashamed of developing an eating disorder. I mean, I’m a feminist. I have a college degree. I studied social work, which included classes in women’s studies and abnormal psychology, for crying out loud. If there’s one thing I’ve learned through this process, it’s that eating disorders do not discriminate. I suffer from an eating disorder despite the fact that I “should know better,” and I am most definitely not alone in that.

Compassionate Eating: The Food of Love

When I was at my lowest point in my disorder, I entirely lost the ability to see food as nurturing and loving, and I am grateful to be getting that ability back once more.

An Open Letter To Anyone With An Eating Disorder

A good read when you need a little encouragement from somebody who’s been there.

Transform Your Relationship With Food By Doing This One Simple Thing

Although the title may be a bit dramatic, this post makes some excellent points. Food is food, whether it’s a cookie, a piece of celery, or a scrambled egg. And, believe it or not, our bodies need food.

Life, Etc. 

The Sensitive Gal’s Guide To Apologies

To genuinely apologize takes strength and courage, and I know that we all appreciate receiving apologies when they are called for. Personally, I am trying to work on having the courage and humility to admit my wrongdoings and apologize for them.

My Life Is Full Of It

Every second of every day is a part of our life. We fill it with whatever we choose.

‘Marcel The Shell With Shoes On’ Is Back, And He’s Got Allergies

Yes! I’ve missed you, Marcel.

‘CraftFail’ Is Where Pinterest Dreams Go To Die

Essentially, the outcome of every craft I have ever attempted.

‘She Looks Just Like You’

This is a beautiful reflection on evaluating self-criticism and how it impacts our children.

That sums up this week’s worthwhile reads! Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

Leave a Reply

