Five Things Friday 10/24

Happy Friday! I’m pretending to be happy that it’s Friday even though I have to work all the livelong day tomorrow. Fridays still feel special somehow, do they not? I’m linking up with Clare for a Five Things Friday post again this week to share some of my week’s highlights (and lowlights?) with you all.

Five Things I Ate

IMG_4031

Pasta with meat sauce and bread, made by my friend on Monday when we got together to watch The Voice. Team Pharrell for life!

IMG_4009

Homemade caesar salad (picture taken pre-lettuce) made by the couple whose house I’m staying in before they left. On their own, anchovies aren’t really my thing, but it’s a whole different story in caesar salad.

IMG_4010

Chili, also made by said couple. It was darn good chili, too.

IMG_4061

Lentil and mushroom soup, with some Trader Joe’s Everything crackers and carrot sticks. Rainy weather calls for soup, and we have had some rather dreary rain lately.

IMG_4006

New yogurt found at the natural foods store. I’m a sucker for new yogurt varieties, and this one definitely received two thumbs up.

Five Things I Pinned

I really, really want these measuring cups. Although I don’t measure things as obsessively as I used to (thanks, recovery!) I still appreciate an adorable measuring vessel as much as the next guy.

It’s a fine balance.

Bracelets

A possible use for jeans that no longer fit, perhaps?

Simple and beautiful.

Whoever edited this idiotic advertisement is wonderful.

Five Things Making Me Happy

1. I brought my guitar out to this house with me and I’ve really enjoyed playing it, albeit poorly. I figure it’ll scare away the bears, which is totally cool with me.

2. I had a great staff meeting last night. While that might sound like an oxymoron, it was the same pre-holiday season staff meeting that we had last year, when I was so, so sick. I was starving during that meeting, but wouldn’t touch the food that was being passed around. In comparison, it was pretty fan-fucking-tastic this time around. This year, I ate pizza and joked with my coworkers, wholeheartedly engaging in the meeting. It felt amazing.

3. I had a much-overdue FaceTime session with my big bro last night, and catching up with him was wonderful.

4. I had a great week off from intense exercise. It was anxiety-inducing, nerve-wracking, and incredibly challenging at times but I’m glad that I showed myself that I could do it. I’m going to continue limiting my exercise and assessing how I feel along the way. This week also marked one month without weighing myself, which is incredible to write. I know at this point in my recovery that knowing my weight would be a hindrance, so for now I am holding off from weighing myself until further notice.

5. A customer brought this teeny, tiny puppy into work a few days ago and I could barely contain myself. I had to refrain from shoving it in my apron pocket and stealthily sneaking out the back door with it.

IMG_3998

That pretty much wraps things up this Friday! Have a great kick-off to the weekend, y’all!

One thought on “Five Things Friday 10/24

Leave a Reply

