What I Ate Wednesday 10/15

Good morning and happy Wednesday! I’m linking up with Peas and Crayons again today to share some notable foods I’ve enjoyed in the last week. I want to preface this post by talking a little bit about comparisons, however. It likely comes as no surprise that comparing one’s intake to another’s can be treacherous territory, especially in eating disorder recovery. I know that I have seen others’ posts of meals and experienced increased anxiety about my own choices. Am I eating too much? Am I eating healthily enough? These are the kinds of questions I do not want to be asking myself, as they are almost always coming from a disordered place. They are questions that I would hate to trigger in anybody else, as well.

When I participate in these posts, it is my hope that my choices are not being analyzed or compared in a way that fuels disordered thoughts, especially if they are posing a challenge in anyone’s recovery. In a given day, I probably eat quite a bit more than I manage to photograph and share. These posts are a mere snapshot. No matter what we see out here on the internet, it is our responsibility to care for ourselves and do what we have found works for us.

On that note, here are some things I ate!

IMG_3964

I’m a creature of habit, and I’m in the habit of consuming oatmeal for breakfast. Yesterday, however, I did get a little kooky. And yes, I did just use the word kooky. I added hemp hearts to my oatmeal for an added nutritional boost. My mornings are pretty nonstop at work, and I have been getting a teensy bit hangry by the time lunch rolls around, even with a little snack. I figured a bit of experimentation might be a good idea, and I was quite pleased with the addition. I can’t say that the hemp hearts are especially delightful on their own, but they were rather tasty when combined with oatmeal, my morning drug of choice.

IMG_3966

Work snacks are predictable, and usually consist of a granola bar of some sort and an americano. This americano was topped with cinnamon and a bit of soy milk. I’m not lactose intolerant and I love me some dairy products, but I adore the combination of soy and espresso, so that’s how I roll.

IMG_3968

Lunch was pretty standard: turkey pastrami sandwich, Late July chips, carrots, hummus, cheese, and an apple. In reality, I ended up eating the apple and cheese an hour or two later, but they were still in the realm of lunchtime, so it works.

IMG_3960

In snack food news, I have reignited my love affair with wasabi peas. I bought a bunch in bulk a while back and sort of forgot about them, but I’m glad they have made a comeback in my life. They are especially good with raisins, if you’re curious as to what the shriveled brown lumps in the above photo represent. It’s the perfect snack combination of spicy, salty, and sweet. Mmmm boy.

IMG_3961

I had dinner at a friend’s house, and she made pork in her crock pot and a spinach salad. I brought a moderately unsuccessful rice and vegetable side dish. I cooked some green beans, carrots, and zucchini with soy sauce and a little butter and added steamed brown rice. The flavors were good, but how the hell do you successfully cook brown rice?! I thought I was golden, but it was totally undercooked. Nobody seemed to mind too much, though, and I can pretend that I did it intentionally for texture variation purposes.

IMG_3973

One of my coworkers went to Oregon last week, and she brought me back a whole box of See’s lollipops! A year ago, I would have been anything but grateful for this gift. This year, however, I know that I can eat lollipops if I want them, damn it. The freedom given to me through recovery allows me to enjoy one every once in a while without beating myself up about it. And yesterday evening happened to be one of those once in a whiles.

That wraps up this week’s What I Ate Wednesday post. Have a wonderful remainder of the day, and I’ll see you tomorrow!

6 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday 10/15

  1. Oatmeal isn’t even a nice looking food, but looking at yours I want some!! mmmm 🙂
    I also find brown rice really tricky to make properly – mine always stays kinda soggy 😦

Leave a Reply

