Thinking Out Loud 10/9: Embrace The Weird

Hello and happy Thursday! I’m linking up with Amanda at Running With Spoons today to think out loud about weirdness. More specifically, why being weird is fantastic.

I was grocery shopping earlier this week, and as I was helping myself to bulk spices, I overheard a young girl talking to her mom. She was telling her mom that two of her best friends had told her that she was weird, which hurt her feelings. I glanced over at the girl and realized she looked a lot like me when I was about her age. She had short, straight blonde hair with bangs cut straight across and she was wearing a badass tie-dye shirt. I was overwhelmed with the desire to tell the girl that being normal is overrated, and that normal doesn’t mean anything anyway. I wanted to tell her to embrace the things about her that she thinks are weird, because they are what make her unique.

While I was carefully scooping my curry powder and eavesdropping on this little family, I started to think about my own weirdness, something I have been acutely aware of for quite some time. I had straight-across bangs when I was younger, for example, because I sucked on my hair if it was long. So weird, right? At the time, I know that I thought it was strange, but it was a habit that I couldn’t break. In retrospect, it was likely a habit developed out of anxiety, similar to my nail-biting and obsessive-compulsive tendencies. We have become the people that we are for a reason. What may seem weird or abnormal can and should be seen as a part of a whole, unique being. So, for today’s Thinking Out Loud post, I’m embracing my own oddities with a list of 10 things that I think are weird about myself, but a part of the person that I am nonetheless.

IMG_3907

The cutest overall-wearing, hair-sucking weirdo with a loose front tooth I ever did see

1. I hate having my wrists touched. I mean, I really hate it.

IMG_3909

Needless to say, hand-holding is a challenge.

2. At the age of 23 (and a half), I still adore Nancy Drew computer games and Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 3.

IMG_3906

Let me tell you, I can dominate at Tony Hawk. However, I take issue with Nancy Drew’s E rating. Those mysteries can be scary as shit.

3. I find serial killers absolutely fascinating. I probably know far too much information about them, and I have been known to say, “I love serial killers!” without thinking of the repercussions of such a statement.

4. When I was little, I had a favorite stuffed cat that I named Wacky Wednesday. Nobody, myself included, has any idea where I came up with that name but that cat and I went everywhere together. I also had an imaginary friend named Jonathan The Pig. Jonathan was not, in fact, a pig. He was an imaginary person and, when we went sledding, I pushed him down the sledding hill first so that I would know if it was safe for others. I was clearly an advocate for responsible sledding.

IMG_3908

5. There are not many foods that I hate, but I detest ricotta cheese and shrimp with a deep passion.

Although most likely delicious to many, this dish is the stuff nightmares are made of as far as I’m concerned.

6. I love the smell of old basements, especially my grandparents’ basement.

7. I have a cat that I named Preggers. She has never been pregnant. She is a psychopath.

IMG_3014

With a name like Preggers, how could you be normal?

8. I got into an altercation with a man dressed as Dweedle Dum at Disney World at the age of seven because he jokingly took my pen after I got his autograph. Apparently, what was funny to him was rage-inducing to me.

9. Dough is my favorite food. Any type of dough, really. Pie crust dough, bread dough, cookie dough. There’s something about that uncooked goodness that I just adore.

Preparing dough for The Best Pan Pizza {super easy!} from foodiewithfamily.com

Yum.

10. I’m probably the least germ-conscious person I know. I eat things off of the floor, share drinks with people without batting an eyelash, and let animals slobber all over me. Until proven otherwise, I will continue to staunchly believe that my anti-germaphobic tendencies improve my immunity.

So there you have it! 10 things about me that are, without a doubt, not necessarily normal. But, really, what’s worse than the mundane? I would rather be weird than boring, that’s for sure. My call to action to the girl I saw in the grocery store, to myself, and to everybody else is to embrace the weird. The things that make us us in this world of seven billion others are fascinating. Don’t run from them, but own them as a part of your whole, unique, once-in-a-lifetime self.

IMG_3768

Quote d'ispirazione della settimana | inspirewetrust.com

Amen, Doctor Seuss

One thought on “Thinking Out Loud 10/9: Embrace The Weird

  1. I don’t think your fascination with serial killers is weird. I enjoy reading about them, but I’m always more interested in the actual crime rather than the person committing it. I can look at gruesome crime scene photos all day. Maybe I am a little weird.

Leave a Reply

