Five Things Friday 9/26

Good morning and Happy Friday! I’m linking up with Clare for another Five Things Friday post this week. This week was gorgeous as far as weather was concerned, and I loved trying to soak it all up. I also worked with my favorite coworkers this week, so even work wasn’t all that taxing!

Five Things I Ate: 

IMG_3821Really good salsa and hummus that we sampled out at work with some rice chips. So good!

IMG_3834A deconstructed peach bran muffin.

IMG_3829

Eggs, vegetables, and avocado on toast. It may be boring, but it’s damn tasty.

IMG_3792 These stubby baby carrots I grew in my garden. They want to be real carrots when they grow up.

IMG_3831This latte, which was kind of a big fuckin’ deal. Here’s the thing: I love anything pumpkin. Who doesn’t, right? Pumpkin is everywhere these days. Given this love, I love pumpkin spice lattes, although they’re a tad sweet for my taste. Needless to say, pumpkin spice lattes did not fit very neatly into my diet plan over the last two years. And, because I saw food as something that should always be restricted, not as an essential part of life (one of the most essential, I should add), they were cut out entirely along with any other liquid calories. When I could cut lattes out of my diet, it was a real sign of strength as far as I was concerned. It made me feel a false sense of confidence, and I loved that.

Perhaps I was feeling bold today, perhaps I realized that feeding my body is not a sign of weakness, or perhaps I am just enjoying real life too much to care anymore. In any case, I decided that I wanted a latte…made with 2% milk…with some fucking pumpkin spice syrup in it. So, after my physical therapy appointment today I went to Starbucks and ordered a latte with very little hesitation. I felt strong. I felt amazing. Just don’t tell my coworkers that I’m sleeping with the enemy, mmkay? Our coffee still wins.

Five Things I Pinned

Worst feeling in the world: the trifecta of being cold, wet, and hungry. Ugh.

Royston Turquoise and Copper Rivet Oval RingMmm, love me some turquoise.

0522f2bcdf357a54dd995551c5076f9d 4 Pics of Cats Mimicking Men.. Thats getting more and more funny :D models mimick men lol fun cats cat The resemblances are uncanny.

Ah, Freaks and Geeks. You know me so well.

8 minute brussels sprouts recipe, www.mountainmamacooks

I, for one, love brussels sprouts, and these look fabulous.

Five Things I’m Loving: 

  • Weather warm enough for sandals! I gotta hang on to it while I can.

IMG_3835

  • The Fuck It Diet. This site is awesome. I got a weekly email from them today that was just what I needed to read.
  • Riding my bike. With weather so lovely, I’m trying to engage in the physical activity that ranks highest on my list: riding my little ol’ bike around town.

IMG_3836

  • My dog. Damn, he’s cute. He lives at my grandpa’s house to keep him company now, but I go visit them pretty often. What really gets me is when puts himself to bed every night, curling up on the pillow next to my grandpa. It’s borderline too cute.

IMG_3818

  • Sleep! I’ve been sleeping pretty well lately, and thinking back to a year ago when I woke up in the middle of the night with hunger pains every. single. night. Thank God for a year of difference.

That wraps up this week’s edition of Five Things Friday. Have a glorious weekend!

4 thoughts on “Five Things Friday 9/26

  1. a – home grown carrots are one of life’s simplest, best treasures ❤
    b – im still a bit afraid to try a pumpkin spice latte, but maybe ill push myself soon. good for you for treating yourself! 🙂

Leave a Reply

