Thinking Out Loud 9/25: Current Happenings

Good morning and welcome to this week’s edition of Thinking Out Loud, courtesy of Amanda at Running With Spoons! In an effort to be a little more interesting, I’m going to steal another one of Amanda’s ideas and use this week to do a post full of the things I am currently loving, disliking, doing, etc. Here we go!

Current Book: 

So many, but also none. I’m in various stages of reading several books, but I finished a book about a week ago and I haven’t read one consistently since. I did, however, get my new issue of Darling this week and I’ve been loving it, as always. If you haven’t read the magazine or looked at their website, I highly recommend it. IMG_3823

Current TV Show: 

The Voice! One of my good friends and I get together every Monday night, eat dinner, and watch it. I’m pretty pumped about this season so far. I like The Voice because its primary focus is talent, and the coaches are always extremely encouraging and constructive. Plus, I think Pharrell and Gwen Stefani both make excellent additions to the show. Way to go, NBC. Pat yourselves on the back.

Current Desktop Background:

Screen Shot 2014-09-25 at 8.14.51 AMThis picture that I took on my last morning in Senegal before flying home. It’s one of my favorites. On a side note, don’t ask me why I still have my abnormal psychology presentation on my desktop when I’ve been out of college for a year and a half. You never know when you’re going to have to impress people with your knowledge of psychology, I guess!

Current Music: 

The new Alt-J album, This Is All Yours. Love, love, love it. I was just introduced to Alt-J a year or so ago, and I really like their sound. I like it enough to actually buy the album which, given the strict budget I’ve been adhering to, indicates a pretty significant amount of liking.

Current Drink:

IMG_3802IMG_3827

Little baby Americanos topped with soy milk and cinnamon. Mmm, boy. I’m also loving Perrier’s grapefruit flavor of mineral water. I’ve significantly cut back on my consumption of diet soda, and when I’m craving carbonation I try to steer myself toward sparkling water instead. This one hasn’t let me down, although it’s a little spendy.

Current Color:

I’m in love with dark, eggplant-ish purple, perhaps because I got a new scarf that happens to contain said color. I’m almost, almost excited for colder weather simply for the scarf possibilities it affords.

IMG_3824

Current Frustration:

IMG_3810

See all of those brown splotches on my leg? That’s coffee. I wear an apron every day, yet somehow the coffee knows how to evade any sort of fabric shield. Needless to say, Spray ‘N’ Wash is my BFF.

IMG_3822

I was putting some necklaces out on display at work when a customer came in and I stopped to help them. Foolishly, I put the necklaces down in a pile and they are now seemingly irreversibly knotted together. Honestly, untangling necklaces could be used as a form of torture.  I would confess my deepest secrets after about twenty minutes of such an exasperating activity. I never did manage to get them untangled, but I left a very apologetic note for our merchandiser.

Current Thing I Am Grateful For:

Last year, I started writing down one thing that I’m grateful for every day in a notebook given to me by a friend. So, I guess I have quite a long list from which I could choose. Today, I’m going with humility. There have been a few instances lately where I have had to look in the metaphorical mirror at myself, admit my mistakes, and try to learn from situations rather than being stubborn (one of my greatest skills) and harboring resentment and anger. Humility is not self-deprecation. It is not always assuming that you are in the wrong, or being hard on yourself for perceived failures each and every day. It is acknowledging the fact that we are all humans and we all make mistakes, just as we all have moments of great success. Getting to know myself better means knowing when I am wrong and having the courage to admit it.

Ephesians 4:2

That’s all the thinking out loud I have in me for today. Have a beautiful pre-Friday, everybody!

2 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud 9/25: Current Happenings

  1. I love what you said about humility and couldn’t agree more — it takes a strong person to be able to admit that they were wrong and learn from their mistakes. And flavoured sparkling water is my go-to when I’m craving something carbonated as well. Either that or kombucha, buuuuut the former is a lot easier on the wallet.

Leave a Reply

