Worthwhile Reads 9/21

Happy last day of Summer everybody! It’s supposed to be gorgeous here today, so I’m going to be sure to soak it up while I can. But first, I’m linking up with Amanda at Running With Spoons to share some good reads of the week. Enjoy!

Recovery 

After Weight Restoration: Envisioning Recovery

People have different ideas about what being in recovery and recovered mean, and this is an interesting take. Recovery is different for everybody, so it’s helpful to me to see a variety of perspectives.

Not Only Stopping Starving, But Starting Living Again

Anyone who is in recovery knows it’s not as simple as “just eat” or “stop starving”. There is a life beyond anorexia, and this article has some helpful tips for continuing through recovery until you can begin wholeheartedly living that life.

How To Embrace Mental And Physical Rest

I certainly did not know how to rest in the depths of my eating disorder, when I found excuses to make as many trips upstairs or out to my car as possible, ran in place at stop signs, and stopped to do sit-ups whenever I had a free moment. I have come a long way from those days, but rest is something that I still struggle with today. As whole beings, we require periods of rest, both mentally and physically. Tuning into our bodies’ need for that rest is a challenge sometimes, but so important.

Life, Etc. 

Meghan Trainor’s “All About That Bass” Lyrics Rewritten To Be More Body-Positive & Inclusive

YES. I was irritated when this song came out as one promoting body acceptance, when it clearly still emphasizes the importance of male approval. Don’t get me wrong – the message it sends is better than many others out there, but we still have a long way to go if we can only accept our bodies on the condition that men find them appealing.

My Brain Has Too Many Tabs Open

Being busy is highly overvalued in our society. We truly can’t contribute to our world or nurture ourselves if our schedules are booked solid with commitments, especially if those commitments aren’t what we genuinely want to be doing. I’m setting a goal this week to prioritize the things that actually matter to me, like self-care, time spent with friends and family, and sleep. The other things can fit in the in-between spaces.

How To Clear Toxic People & Relationships From Your Life 

I was always taught to turn the other cheek and give people the benefit of the doubt in relationships. There’s nothing inherently wrong with that, but it led to me staying involved in relationships that were harmful for far too long. It’s so vital to look after our own wellbeing in addition to the wellbeing of others.

3 Ways To Navigate The Unknown

The last year has felt like one big unknown to me, and my move to Chicago feels pretty uncertain as well. This article is short and sweet, with some good tips for diving into the unpredictable parts of life.

Why Writing Can Alleviate Back Pain: A Surgeon Explains

I have back pain! And I write! Perfect!

Jumping Cats At Play Look Like Ninjas

This is just fabulous.

That’s it for this week! Get outside and enjoy this last day of summer!

Leave a Reply

