What I Ate Wednesday 9/3

I sort of dropped the ball on this week’s What I Ate Wednesday post. This happened partially because I forgot and partially because I primarily ate relatively boring foods. While last week’s post was one day’s worth of food, this week’s post features some notable bites from the past week rather than focusing on one day. It’s all about the big picture, right? 

IMG_3633

The garden that I planted this spring is finally paying off! This week, I was able to enjoy zucchini, yellow squash, peppers, and lettuce all grown by yours truly. To think that a year ago I would have either not eaten these vegetables because I could not know their exact nutritional value, or eaten them in weighed portions only, is mind-blowing to me. It feels great to grow your own food and enjoy it for what it is rather than what arbitrary caloric value it possesses. IMG_3641

In other homegrown news, our neighbor dropped this bag of teeny tiny apples on our front porch. They taste pretty good, but I mostly like them because they are so darn cute. 

IMG_3638

The place where I work sells these trail mix bars that I have always thought would taste good, but was too fearful of the unknown calories to try. In all honesty, I think that I may have tasted one at one point and spit it out after I started thinking about its impact on me. Having eaten one for an afternoon snack the other day, I can tell you that I was sorely missing out by doing so! Oats, peanut butter, raisins, dates…how could it possibly be bad? I’m sad that I deprived myself of these for so long, but quite happy that I can enjoy them much more freely now. 

IMG_3640

I got a crazy good deal on my favorite Good Earth tea at Costco. Because I drink so much coffee at work, I often drink tea with my breakfast instead and nothing pairs better with my breakfast than this particular tea. And because I’m a cheapskate, I was elated to see it on sale! 

IMG_3642

I experimented with making my own granola bars this week, and the results were mixed. The ones pictured above turned out beautifully. The ones pictured below, however, didn’t form quite as smoothly. You may be wondering where said granola bars are in the picture below, and that’s because they’re hidden. They are the crumbled mess that you can’t see under the banana and yogurt. Although their dreams of becoming granola bars have been cut short, they do make a pretty tasty cereal/granola snack when paired with some yogurt. All is not lost. 

IMG_3636

That’s it for this week! From homegrown vegetables to granola bar wannabes, it was a pretty decent week in eats for me. Thanks to Peas and Crayons for starting this whole thing. Head on over there for more WIAW reads and have a good Wednesday! 

Leave a Reply

