Five Things Friday

I’m trying my first-ever Five Things Friday this week! I know that it’s popular to include five workouts in these posts, but in trying to reframe how I think about exercise, I’m leaving those out. Here goes nothin’!

5 Things I Ate

IMG_3607.JPG
Free Asian chicken salad from work with hummus, salsa, chips, and carrots

IMG_3578.JPG

Out of this world leftover Hawaiian pizza and a salad

IMG_3609.JPG

Cups on cups on cups of coffee

An awesome prosciutto fig panini that I didn’t capture photographically

Homemade yogurt curry that was delish

5 Things I Did

1. Drove my lovely friend to the airport and bid her adieu, and then engaged in some retail therapy to soothe my soul

2. Worked two 9-hour shifts

3. Did some collage art

4. Found out my brother is now engaged to his fabulous girlfriend

5. Sent two care packages to friends in faraway places

5 Things I’m Upset About

IMG_3610.PNG

I beg to differ, Words with Friends

IMG_3611.JPG

It’s getting cold in the mornings again, which makes eating breakfast outside no longer a viable option. On the bright side, my lunch break outside at work is still delightful!

This bullshit:

IMG_3612

As well as this bullshit:

IMG_3613

Sigh.

5 Things I Pinned

Homemade KIND bars - recipes for 6 of the most popular flavors. Save some cash, plus, I can use all organic ingredients and feel good about giving these to the girls. - Just made these. Really good, but will try less sweetener next time.

Homemade Kind bars? Sign me up.

1 1/2 lbs zucchini, yellow squash, and/or eggplant, cut into same size pieces (use any combination of these vegetables)  2 T peanut oil or canola oil (or possibly a little more if you don't have a non-stick pan)  2 T finely minced garlic (or less)  1 onion, sliced top to bottom in strips about 1/2 inch wide  1/4 tsp. salt  3 T Oyster Sauce (look for it by the Asian foods in any supermarket)

Cant. Get. Enough. Stir-Fry.

>>

Amen.

Chevron and Plaid

I’m wishing I hadn’t placed myself in a spending freeze right about now.

Wherever You Are, Be All There

Live in the moment.

5 Things Making Me Happy

My wonderful coworkers, who I genuinely love working with each and every day. Along the same lines, having the day off on Labor Day this Monday!

Raisin-filled Frosted Mini Wheats. Apparently not everybody feels the same way, since they were on a major closeout sale at the grocery store, but they’re like Fig Newtons in cereal form!

Cleaning out my closet. I’ve reached the point where I can accept that I will not fit all of the clothes that I fit one year ago and, more importantly, I do not want to fit them because I know I would have to be sick to do so.

Thinking about how far I have come in the last year. Any time I get discouraged, I remember the leaps and bounds that I have made and think about how much better it can only get from here. Recovery is the hardest thing I’ve ever undertaken but man, is it worth it.

There you have it, folks! My first Five Things Friday. Hopefully it was mildly amusing. Have a great holiday weekend and I’ll see you next time!

 

Leave a Reply

