I Scream for Ice Cream

If you don’t like Dilly Bars, get over here so I can slap some sense into you. I have a hard time believing that anybody out there doesn’t enjoy them at least a little bit. I mean, come on. What’s not to like? Ice cream, artificial flavoring, and a fun popsicle stick to play with when you’re finished! Dilly Bars have everything one could want from a dessert, in my opinion.

You may be wondering whether or not Dairy Queen paid me to write the previous paragraph. No, they did not, although I’m still open to receiving a check if you’re reading, Dairy Queen. I’m writing about my love of Dilly Bars because it’s the cold, hard truth, and because I just ate one. I finished my dinner, and I was still hungry. Fairly hungry, actually. Ordinarily, I would have agonized over whether I was really hungry, tried to distract myself from being hungry, or tried to satisfy myself with something absurd like a carrot or a single cracker.

But tonight, something was different. I knew I was hungry. I knew I didn’t want a carrot. I knew I wanted ice cream. And, as much as it felt against the grain to do so, I promptly went out and bought a Dilly Bar. I brought it home, sat outside as the sun set, and ate my Dilly Bar contentedly. I ate it and moved on. I didn’t overthink it. I didn’t deny myself. My body asked me for something and I gave it what it wanted. And it felt damn good. It felt like a victory. We are humans in need of and deserving of food. So the next time you’re questioning whether or not you deserve dessert, just eat the fucking ice cream.

One thought on “I Scream for Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

