What I Ate Wednesday

Honestly, I have mixed feelings about the What I Ate Wednesday phenomenon. In a culture dangerously fueled by comparison, is it helpful to look at other people’s food choices all of the time? Perhaps not. I know that I, in the depths of my disorder, was fairly triggered by viewing What I Ate Wednesday posts, and I recognize the danger of somebody who is not fully recovered sharing her food habits.

You may be asking yourself why I’ve chosen to participate today if I have a vendetta against such things. Well, I decided to do a post this week because I want to see what a day of food looks like for me when I’m not counting calories, being more mindful of exercise, and responding accurately to my body’s need for food. My hope is that I can look over a day’s worth of food and feel good about my choices because I was listening to my body each time I decided to eat. It is not my intention to trigger anybody and I would be devastated to know my post had done so. Please, please, please try to refrain from comparing yourself to me. If you are in recovery, I encourage you to do what is working for you. We are all different people on different journeys.

So, without further ado, here is a day of food for me:

IMG_3589.JPG
Oatmeal, of course, because I love it with my heart, soul, and mind. This particular bowl had almonds, a banana, cinnamon, and egg whites whipped up in it. Who am I kidding? Pretty much every bowl of oatmeal I eat has those things.

Not pictured: a protein bar eaten hurriedly in a break between customers. Perhaps not ideal, but when you gotta eat, you gotta eat, right?

IMG_3591.JPG

IMG_3592.JPG
Lunch was an Asian chicken salad from work with greens, almonds, sesame dressing, pineapple, and crunchy wonton strips. I also tacked on a bag of chips from home, which was a combination of stale salt and vinegar and stale sour cream and onion. The salad was solid, but the chips? Meh.

Not pictured: a granola bar, an apple, and some carrots and hummus (quite possibly past their prime) while working. Oh! And a sucker from the bank.

IMG_3593.JPG
After work snack before doing some weights: carrots, crackers, hummus, and salsa

IMG_3595.JPG

IMG_3597.JPG
Dinner: A salad with cucumber, sesame dressing, and some chopped up wasabi peas, almonds, and cranberries. I also had a stir-fry thing with chicken, vegetables, lentils, and a variety of seasonings (orange sauce, soy sauce, lemon juice, and rice wine vinegar to name a few). I tried the lentils in an effort to mix things up and venture out from rice, but this honestly would have been much better with rice. Well, lesson learned.

It’s so refreshing being able to cook meals and not use the caloric value of silly things like red pepper flakes and garlic powder against myself. Hooray for a full two weeks of not logging calories!

Not pictured: a few pieces of Frosted Mini Wheat cereal

IMG_3598.JPG
Bedtime snack: peanut butter toast. It never fails me. I eat it almost every day. Why? Because eating a snack helps me sleep until morning, of course! And I have found a snack that works for me. I don’t always eat the same amount of toast/peanut butter, but it’s a solid standby.

So there you have it! A full day of food for me. Not one calorie was tallied. Not one leaf of lettuce or almond was weighed. I have no idea what my ratio of protein to carbs was. And I absolutely do not fucking care. It may not be perfect, but perfection isn’t the goal. My only goal is progress, and I’m making it every day.

Leave a Reply

