Wisdom Gleaned from a Friend’s Visit

Today, I took my friend back to the airport and we said our goodbyes. I had a fantastic week with her and it was sad to see her go, but I am so incredibly grateful that she was able to visit for an entire week. Alli’s visit posed some excellent recovery challenges for me, and I am hopeful that I will be able to use her visit as a boost to continue with recovery. While Alli was here, I appreciated the challenges of resting my body, eating a variety of things, and not relying on numbers to decide when and what I am able to eat. It was wonderful! To motivate me through the week, I continually made note of the things I was doing that were most certainly better than obsessing over food and exercise. Here are some things I came up with:

– Playing on playgrounds as an adult
– Really, really good pizza
– Watching cooking competition shows
– Lying on the dock over the lake in the sun (even if it results in a gnarly sunburn)
– Driving through the mountains
– Candy
– Harmless gossip
– Drinking coffee with friends
– Getting manicures and pedicures
– Skype
– Sitting with a cat on your lap
– Grilling outside on a nice evening
– Listening to rap music at top volume
– Making mixed CDs
– Talking about important issues like inequality, racism, and other injustices
– Shopping, with or without spending money
– Laughing. A ton.

The list goes on and on, but that’s a brief summary. I was reminded this week of what life is really about, or what I want it to be about for me. I never again want to prioritize my own self-destruction over the kinds of lovely experiences I had over the last week. When I look back on this week, and on my life, I want to remember the time spent with others rather than arbitrary numbers such as calories burned/consumed and weight. Life is more than those numbers. It is so much more and I hope I never forget that again.

Leave a Reply

